Define and Design 2016, Week Fifty-one

When you rise in the morning, give thanks for the light, for your life, for your strength. Give thanks for your food and for the joy of living. If you see no reason to give thanks, the fault lies in yourself.  ~Tecumseh

joy

December 16

Creativity: Painting, preparing kid’s craft activities for next week

Gratitude: Chapstick, hand lotion, reading a new book

Joy: Watching the toddler’s excitement when I projected colorful snowflakes across the walls, ceiling, and floor. Phone call with Youngest. Christmas music and Christmas lights!

Awareness: My dog gives various signals when someone approaches my door or walks through the front yard. It’s funny how we can tell exactly who the person is by her yip, wag, or dance…and a complete stranger is totally different from her happy welcomes.

December 17

Creativity: Writing

Gratitude: Grocery shopping for making Christmas sweets, in home spa time, reading, iron and ironing board, soap and hot water

Joy: Christmas music, two Christmas parties even though we left the second one early because it was just too many people and too much action to handle in one day

Awareness: The huge, golden moon hung low in the sky. It followed us all night, peeping through the skeletal trees and holiday-lit buildings, dipping behind walls of fog and popping up on one side and then the other. Finally Luna swooped in front of the road and led us home.

December 18

Creativity: Made a multitude of sweet treats to get us through the holidays

Gratitude: family, home, hot tea

Joy: At home doing the things I wanted to do, my pretty kitchen baking apron, Christmas trees, and Christmas music

Awareness: The wind was speaking in tongues; we deciphered it to mean stay in bed which we did. Once I was up and about I found it was 70 degrees with a lovely wind whipping at my back, delightful for the few minutes I was outside.

December 19

Creativity: Painting

Gratitude: Family dinner, reading time, “light at the end of the tunnel”, Hubby and Oldest are enjoying all of the Christmas treats I made this weekend

Joy: Alvin and the Chipmunks Christmas Song! (So many memories of my Dad and me and also of my children)

Awareness: Aromas, textures, sounds, tastes, beauty…the senses bring the soul to life. What in each of these five senses moves you? For me it’s a (aroma) woodsy scent, (texture) smooth and silky fabric or a cold gemstone, (sound) music (especially the blues),(taste) a combination of salt and sweet, and (beauty) a landscape (which includes mountains and a river )in which  I feel connected.

December 20

Creativity: Drawing and painting

Gratitude: Christmas shopping

Joy: Watched “Love Actually”, talked to Youngest on the phone

Awareness: People would live much more fulfilling lives if they didn’t depend on the media to tell them how to feel and act…think for yourselves and follow your hearts, people. Be good. Do good. Retribution is NOT progress!

December 21

Creativity: Crafting with the kiddos, writing

Gratitude: Christmas shopping, only a few things left on my list and will do those on Friday (or will send hubby out for them, ha!)

Joy: Tried on the most comfortable pair of shoes ever at the shoe store and decided to purchase them. When I got to the counter the cashier asked me where my second pair were…they were buy one and get one half price…yay, I scored two pairs of the most comfortable shoes ever, in black and brown!

Awareness: I get much more accomplished when I shop alone. I don’t shop for fun; it is a mission for me. On rare occasions I do enjoy shopping with a friend, and then it’s for fun.

December 22

Creativity: Playing games and dancing with the kiddos

Gratitude: A multitude of blessings, small and large. Oldest ordered a bushel of oysters for a family feast when Youngest arrives.

Joy: A sensational sunset, Air travel-Youngest is on his way here!

Awareness: Love, joy, and peace truly are conditions of the heart. I am blessed beyond measure.

19 thoughts on “Define and Design 2016, Week Fifty-one

  1. Love the quote by Tecumseh — so true, too. We all need to develop an attitude of gratitude! Looks like you’ll have a full house over the holidays — I know that makes you happy. Nothing like having our young adult kids back home, is there, Suzi? And your Awareness for Dec. 20 is spot on. “Think for yourselves and follow your hearts, people.” Couldn’t have said it any clearer. Happy Christmas to all of you, my friend!

  2. I’ve mostly given up the news these days – sure I skim the headlines so I’m slightly aware of what’s going on, but I’m more focused on what’s in front of me.
    The mad rush to get ready for the holiday is over and now comes my favorite part – sitting and enjoying the lights, the food and quiet time with my family. Happy holidays Susan! xo

  3. I’ve been so busy my blog reading is falling to the way side. Just wanted to say happy holidays! I may steal your idea of gratitude, joy and awareness for 2017. It’s so easy to let the shuffle of life carry you along and you don’t witness and appreciate the small stuff. Hugs!

  4. I totally agree with what you said about how people would lead more fulfilling lives if they didn’t depend on the media to tell them how to feel and act!

    Happy New Year, Suzie! I’ve enjoyed visiting your blog this past year. I only wish I had time to visit more often. May 2017 be a year filled with all good things for you and your family. ❤

Leave a Reply

