Define and Design 2016, Week Forty-nine

“There is virtue in work and there is virtue in rest. Use both and overlook neither.”  ~Alan Cohen

IMG_6995

Made it back to Hatteras just in time for the sunset

December 2

Creativity: Writing

Gratitude: Resolutions to a few difficulties, Amazon movies

Joy: Knowing I have the next nine days work-free and hopefully healing ensues

Awareness: My temper is short and emotions are high wired when my body is out of sync.

December 3

Creativity: Writing

Gratitude: my friend who helped me with PT exercises, order in pizza

Joy: hot tea, a trip to the library (checked out six books), reading, watched a movie with the hubby, call from my sister and a friend, a friend who texted me photos while she shopped and picked up a few things I’d been hoping to get out to buy for someone

Awareness: It’s strange how you think about something and dismiss it and a day or two later you find you find its significance or something of relevance arrives in the mail. Both happened today.

December 4

Creativity: Writing

Gratitude: another day of rest,Reading: Book #1 is finished and book #2 is started

Joy: scented candles, hot tea

Awareness: The world stands still. No swirl of clouds move, just a grey motionless sky. Acorns and pinecones sleep upon a bed of pine needles. Tassels of the silver leaf grass are now statues. The golden leaves of the neighbor’s trees droop to its sides as if the day is not worthy of a welcoming wave. No scurrying squirrels, fluttering birds, nor laughing children. The street is not only still but silent…it seems to be waiting. But for what? Tomorrow?

December 5

Creativity: Cooked dinner

Gratitude: GPS, reading time, people doing the lifting for me

Joy: Yoga pants, fuzzy socks, reclining sofa, furry companions,

Awareness: I fare much better with a flexible schedule than all free time. Couldn’t decide what to spend my “resting” time doing…a movie or a book? Book. Then which one? I’m not even going to tell you how long it took me to decide. I have a feeling this is going to be a long week.

December 6

Creativity: Quilting

Gratitude: catching up on things I’ve gotten behind on

Joy: a great PT evaluation appointment, Amazon movies, books, hot tea

Awareness: I’ve decided to focus 2017 on “relishing the moment” as it will combine my awareness, appreciation, and pleasure of life.

December 7

Creativity: Quilting

Gratitude: Sunshine, fresh vegetables for salad, hot tea, reading time

Joy: music, friends

Awareness: It is difficult for me to remain idle.

December 8

Creativity: Quilting, decorated both Christmas trees, wrapped gifts, stuffed stockings

Gratitude: home, scented candles, exercise bike, reading time, hot tea, time off for healing

Joy: lunch with a friend, evening time with the hubby, talking and texting with a friend

Awareness: Neither Time nor distance separates close friends.

14 thoughts on “Define and Design 2016, Week Forty-nine

  1. Don’t be jealous…they are tabletop trees! I’m jealous you have a real one. We debated on getting a real one this year. We have a huge prelit tree that has three pieces that have to be put together…after it is taken down from the loft; we’re too old for that stuff now! I didn’t really have that much to do this year. And I haven’t started baking yet; that is the biggest feat of all. And I still have six gifts to make. So see, I’m really not that far ahead, ha!

  2. I’m finally rousing from hibernation myself and have been dedicating more time to rediscovering me… I think that’s why I really like the format of this where you call out the things that bring joy and the observations about yourself. I could relate to the book vs. movie debate… many times I fail to make a decision and nothing gets done 🙂

    • I’m so happy to see you!
      I admit there are days it is more difficult to concentrate on appreciation and joy, but this accountability shifts my attitude and helps me regain my composure to focus on what is important. I’ve gotten better at walking away from drama, forgiving hurts, and remaining positive. It helps me to see how truly blessed I am. Life is good.

  3. Suzi, it’s answered prayer hearing that you’re on the mend! That could have been such a nasty tumble, you know. And how lovely that you’ve had a peaceful week, healing mentally and physically!

  4. I realize it could have been so much worse. I am thankful I was not hurt worse, but also I was able to take the time to heal. As much as I enjoyed that time to myself, I am looking forward to a busy household tomorrow.

  5. Sometimes sitting and doing nothing is what we need, but it is often the hardest thing for us to do.
    And this – “It’s strange how you think about something and dismiss it and a day or two later you find you find its significance or something of relevance arrives in the mail. Both happened today.” – lots of this going on the second half of this year.

Leave a Reply

