Define and Design 2016, Week Fort-six

Everybody can be great. Because anybody can serve. You don’t have to have a college degree to serve. You don’t have to make your subject and your verb agree to serve…. You don’t have to know the second theory of thermodynamics in physics to serve. You only need a heart full of grace. A soul generated by love.” ~Martin Luther King, Jr.

img_2299

November 11

Creativity: Stained glass and writing

Gratitude: The first day of a three day weekend to leisurely do as I please, slept in a bit later than usual

Joy: Music, Dinner out with DirtMan

Awareness: While I like setting intentions for my day I prefer to allow a bit of flexibility, prevents stress and welcomes joy.

November 12

Creativity: Stained glass and writing

Gratitude: Enough free time and finances to explore the creative venues which interest me…maybe not enough to the extent I sometimes wish but definitely enough to fill my well.

Joy: Tried a new spa/salon and now have a great new hairdresser…love my haircut.

Awareness: There is a huge difference in accepting people as they are and accepting them because of who they are.

November 13

Creativity: Stained glass and writing

Gratitude: Finished two projects, a Neti pot

Joy: Did not complete the third project because I had a mishap…the joy is I know how to fix it! The rest of the Halloween candy is finally gone.

Awareness: No matter how well I manage my time I fall slightly short of all the things I attempt to cram in…perhaps it not time management but an attempt at overachievement.

November 14

Creativity: Writing, stained glass

Gratitude: enjoyable work day, time with the hubby,

Joy: Book club

Awareness: Things of this world will not always go the way in which we’d prefer but the fact we are not simply witnesses but participants is a wonderful thing. The greatest thing of all is if we are not satisfied we have the ability to be the change we’d like to see to move things in the direction we want.

November 15

Creativity: Writing, stained glass

Gratitude: Creative inspiration, phone calls with my mom and sister and texting with my niece

Joy: Synchronicity, even if I don’t grasp the meaning I know it’s in there somewhere! Speaking of synchronicities or maybe this really isn’t but still is odd. I watch five children, three have the same birthday but three years in a row, a fourth is the day after , and the fifth is fifteen days prior to the middle age children.

Awareness: People demonstrate love in different ways. We see it in actions and hear it in words, but the best indicator of all is how we feel in the presence of another. Energy is everything.

November 16

Creativity: Stained glass

Gratitude: Home, family, creative inspiration (designed a stained glass panel and some suncatchers)

Joy: Looking at machine embroidery design and planning a quilt for my niece’s baby who’s due to arrive this spring, dinner with my family…realizing Thanksgiving is next week. Skipped my writer’s group so I could do some designing.

Awareness: There are times in my excitement I jump ahead of myself rather than taking small details into account…and often those small details make a big difference in the outcome. This is another lesson in looking at the whole picture rather than focusing on one aspect.

November 17

Creativity: Stained glass

Gratitude: Inspiration…it’s rolling! Figuring out a computer problem on my own, left overs because I feel kind of crummy and don’t want to cook dinner, hot bath and hot tea, pencils, erasers, sketch pad

Joy: Vanilla eggnog (unspiked), some new designs I can hardly wait to make, stained glass online groups who share their expertise

Awareness: I think the saying “Put your money where your mouth is” is outdated. I’d much rather people be silent and put their hands to work. Action is how we get things done; I’m talking about being the change you want to see…not just donating money to your cause (though that’s great) but getting out there and volunteering your time at the food bank, soup kitchens, homeless shelters, animal shelters, mentoring children, teaching people to read, reading to the elderly or children, visiting the sick, spending time with the elderly, prison ministry, clean the bay, volunteer at the hospital, help maintain nature trails…this is just the tip of the iceberg. I used to do a lot of volunteer work when my children were young, and they participated. In the last few years I’ve resorted to giving money but not so much of my time. I realize I’ve been slacking, and it’s time for me to step back into action.

20 thoughts on “Define and Design 2016, Week Fort-six

    • Isn’t it great to figure out a technology problem all on our own?
      I find my creativity comes in waves…now to figure out the pattern. Maybe phases of the moon? I should track it.

  1. “Be the change you wish to see”. Or as my cousin Henry used to tell me, you have to be the example you wish to set. I am certainly trying, but it’s not always easy.
    My sisters and I all have birthdays in the same week. When one of those sisters gave birth in the middle of the week, she pieced together that our mother’s birthday was exactly 9 months prior. So there you have it.

    • That is too funny about you and your sister’s birthdays. My parents had the first five children in March (2) and February (3) and I’m about nine months away in July. They had the first four all within four years, then the fifth four years later, and myself, five years after that. People asked what was up and my dad said they got a tv, ha!

    • Isn’t it a great feeling when you’re with people you’re so comfortable with you don’t have to say a word but just be? It’s like being at home but with people instead of places…oh, the comfort of love. Also, funny how you can walk in a room and immediately be drawn to someone’s energy.

  2. Another lovely week, Suzi. Love that you’ve had so much time for creative ventures! I think most of us tend to get mired in the here-and-now to the detriment of creativity. Maybe that’s something I should work on!!

    • Life is a wonderful thing! I try to remember that as it is so easy to get mired in things that aren’t worth sucking our energy…we can only control so much and where we focus our energy is one of them.

  3. My week –
    Creativity: knitting (lots of knitting) and patchwork stitching
    Gratitude: how God guides me where i need to be even when i don’t know where to go or what to do.
    Joy: skype chat with both granddaughters and a daughter. New extra soft baby wool.
    Awareness: I am the director and captain of my own life and not even God will make do something i no longer want to do, no matter what it is. God, is bigger, wider and deeper than we has humans can understand. Realising that the word ‘atonement’ does not only mean ‘at one with God’ but to be ‘at one with each other too.’

    Thank you for your continuing diligence in completing these updates. I pray that life is sweet.

  4. I think we so often underestimate how valuable the giving of our time is. Seems as though we’re always in a hurry and money is an easy way around these things. On the other hand I know people who give too much of their time and then complain about it. There’s a balance to be found with this as there is with everything in life.

    • Balance is everything. Learning to say no was a big thing for me. However, I ended of liking it so well I wasn’t saying yes quite enough. I need to work on my balance and give more time than money, though each has its place.

Leave a Reply

