Define and Design 2016, Week Forty-two

To be creative means to connect. It’s to abolish the gap between the body, the mind and the soul, between science and art, between fiction and nonfiction. ~Nawal El Saadawi

img_3230

October 14

Creativity: Writing

Gratitude: a few hours to myself to read

Joy: Cardinals in my back yard

Awareness: The things that annoy me probably say more about me than others; I need to work on this…changing me not others.

October 15

Creativity: Writing

Gratitude: Was able to finish hurricane clean up (except backyard), only problem is I blistered my hands and now can’t do any stained glass cutting for a few day…body is too tired and sore to do it today anyway, still managed to do my grocery shopping (after a hot shower), reading time

Joy: comfort of resting on the sofa with a hot cup of tea, interesting conversations with a few neighbors

Awareness: I often say my body can’t do what it used to do. However, it still can do most things, just slower and with consequences.

October 16

Creativity: Meal planning and prep for the week

Gratitude: Full of energy, friends we consider family

Joy: a night with family friends, love and laughter always win

Awareness: Following the lights wrapped around the limbs of the tall tree I walked into the backyard. The beauty of the sparkling tiny lights was surpassed only by the Hunter Moon filling the dark gaps between the tree branches.

October 17

Creativity: Writing

Gratitude: a light and cooperative workday, finished the book for book club, a good dinner thanks to my preplanning

Joy:  Glass of wine, a hot shower, and an early bedtime!

Awareness: This morning the Hunter Moon was still hanging around visiting with the sun!

October 18

Creativity: Writing

Gratitude: The internet makes research so much easier than a trip to the library. Made a lovely vegetable stir fry for dinner.

Joy: Communicating with several cousins via FB. A phone call from a good friend and laughing over a euphemism, actually an acronym, she shared with me…always laughing when on the phone with her!

Awareness: There are times it life it calls for you to just kick back and be silly.

October 19

Creativity: Writing

Gratitude: love, life, family, comfort, provisions, the end of the work day

Joy: Friends, writer’s group, candy corn M&Ms

Awareness: I tend to live in my own little bubble, and am surprised to hear the reality of some situations. There is not only the shock value of learning certain conditions exist in the world, but once you are aware the next thought is what can I do to make a difference…

October 20

Creativity: Writing

Gratitude: A better work day than yesterday, catching up with two friends

Joy: A few hours to myself, a glass of wine, my dog and my cat, phone call from a friend I hadn’t heard from in 25 years!

Awareness: Compassion builds bridges where judgment tears them down.

10 thoughts on “Define and Design 2016, Week Forty-two

  1. Love the perspective on your photo today … as well as the quote you’ve selected. You’ve had a busy week! Glad you were able to get the hurricane cleanup finished. We always feel better when things are back to “normal,” don’t we? I’m a candy corn lover, too!!

  2. Many things I enjoyed and appreciated this week, Suzi. The observance of the Harvest Moon through bare branched trees this time of year, the awareness that the things that annoy us say a lot about us (so true) that a night with family, friends, love and laughter always wins –love, love, love and so agree – and so tantalized by the fact that you see cardinals. We never do in the west – blue birds, blue jays, mountain blue birds, but never red. I’d be mesmerized.

  3. Cardinals are my absolute favorite though we have maybe eight or so types of birds that feed from our feeders. We usually have four pairs of cardinals they hang year round in our yard (front, back, and side). The sight of them truly brings such joy to my heart.

    • Thank you, Cecilia. I learn a lot of life lessons in these ordinary things…some days I have to look harder or the lesson comes later, but none the less it’s there!

Leave a Reply

