Define and Design 2016, Week Thirty-nine

Your living is determined not so much by what life brings to you as by the attitude you bring to life; not so much by what happens to you as by the way your mind looks at what happens.~ Khalil Gibran
img_2635

September 23

Creativity: Stained glass, writing

Gratitude: Bargain shopping! MIL was released from the hospital. Safe trip to the mountains. Early morning coffee on the porch with my mom listening to the songs of the birds and the creek.

Joy: Youngest arrived! Wonderful family dinner, lots of love and laughter…oh yes, always laughter when Youngest and Oldest are involved! Wylie’s excitement over seeing Youngest was absolutely fabulous!

Awareness: There are no words for a heart overflowing with love and blessings.

September 24

Creativity: Dancing at a wedding (That’s all I got! Can I count it?)

Gratitude: Time (We crammed an incredible amount into a 12 hour period.) Heartfelt conversations. Early morning coffee on the porch with my mom listening to the songs of the birds and the creek.

Joy: A family wedding. Love, laughter, family, friends, fun, good times…Youngest absolutely insisted I dance with him (I’m not much of a dancer unless DirtMan pushes me into it…had a wonderful time on the dance floor!)

Awareness: While things are ever changing there are things that forever stay the same…and the most important of those things is love.

September 25

Creativity: Writing

Gratitude: To be back home after a whirlwind weekend, Oldest had ordered lunch for us before we arrived home

Joy: A few hours at home before taking Youngest to the airport for his return trip.

Awareness: When your children live far away and you only see them once or twice a year, the joy of their arrival and pain of their departure doesn’t lessen with time.

September 26

Creativity: Stained glass

Gratitude: Back in the groove of work, today’s errands accomplished (actually yesterday’s errands a day late!)

Joy: Thrilled to finally have a pattern finished for a commissioned piece (It only took about 6 designs to get it to where I was satisfied, ha!)

Awareness: When I push myself I can often accomplish things I didn’t think I could do.

September 27

Creativity: Stained glass

Gratitude: a rainy day, sometimes a rainy day is good for the soul

Joy: Pulled out my book “Fire Starter Sessions” by Danielle LaPorte. I didn’t read much of it when I bought it a few years ago. Now, I feel like it pertains to my life, working on an art project, a series of stained glass that I’m extremely excited about. Loving the designs and finished products, also involves some writing as well. A glass of wine!

Awareness: My attitude sucks today…I am worn down and out of sync; I really need a vacation; fortunately it’s next week!

September 28

Creativity: Stained glass

Gratitude: On schedule with two commissioned projects,

Joy: A hot shower and an early bedtime

Awareness: As one thing dies another blooms, such is life.

September 29

Creativity: Stained glass

Gratitude: A relatively light day, and was able to run an errand at the end of the day and cook dinner.

Joy: Realized there is an unfollow button on Facebook…yay, so tired of all those political rants. There is no way I could remain on there through the rest of the election season with all those antagonistic posts. I enjoy using FB to keep up with family and friends, but shuffling through all the bitterness was really messing with my inner peace. Some quiet time to myself.

Awareness: “I will not die an unlived life. I will not live in fear of falling or catching fire. I choose to inhabit my days, to allow my living to open me, to make me less afraid, more accessible; to loosen my heart until it becomes a wing, a torch, a promise. I choose to risk my significance, to live so that which came to me as seed goes to the next as blossom, and that which came to me as blossom goes on as fruit.” ~Dawna Markova:  I posted this quote a year ago as my FB status, and I finally feel I am comfortably “Living in the Gap”. You see, this was my intention for 2012. But when 2013 rolled around I began to shift…while it is difficult to live a balanced life I feel like I’m headed in the right direction.

24 thoughts on “Define and Design 2016, Week Thirty-nine

  1. Your spirit – I love it. Should we start a campaign to limit campaign time – how about they publish a brochure which will be sent to all voters, listing their beliefs and qualifications, a resume if you will, six weeks in advance, then do a moderated debate 3 weeks in advance. That’s all. then the loser goes softly into the night. If, after a few weeks on the job, they fail to meet expectations, they are terminated with two weeks’ severance pay and we give the loser a chance.

  2. When I disconnected from FB, I felt more connected than ever. Way too much fluff and nonsense. Put that “unfollow” button to good use.

    Glad you and Wylie enjoyed your sons’ visits.

  3. I don’t do FB. There are only 24 hours in a day, and that just feels like a huge time-waster to me. Anybody who only wants to talk politics would find me unfriending them … FAST!!
    Love the statement about kids living far away and only getting to see them infrequently. My son lives reasonably close now — closer than when he lived in The Land of The North, anyway! — but I still don’t see him often enough. I realize it’s different when they’re on their own, compared to when they needed us in their younger years. At least we can continue keeping the ties with them close though!
    Happy vacation — be safe!

  4. I love the Dawna Markova quote. And MIL???? i wouldn’t have known what that meant two weeks ago, but my friend who now lives in Luxembourg told me – Mother-in-law. I am a mother-in-law and they in-law children may not live long if i hear them calling me MIL. HAHA!!

  5. So glad to hear that you were able to spend time with your family and disconnect from what doesn’t matter. It’s important to recognize what represents noise in our lives and then take action to eliminate it.

  6. I absolutely adore your opening quote. I’d like to frame it.
    Your wedding weekend sounds fabulous. And yes, I think dancing counts as creativity. I love the image of you and your mom sitting on the porch drinking coffee and listening to the birds and the creek.

    I agree that “When your children live far away and you only see them once or twice a year, the joy of their arrival and pain of their departure doesn’t lessen with time.” My children and grandchildren all live far away, most of them on the other side of the country.

  7. A resounding yes to your awareness of the pain of departure and the joy of arrival and time together regarding children living far from home — mine are in Oregon, Arizona, Utah and Virginia. How did they move so far from being under one roof?

Leave a Reply

