Define and Design 2016, Week Twenty-six

IMG_2335

As time moves on I find the importance of taking time out and doing things that are fun or creative, outlets that cause my spirit to soar.

June 24

Creativity: Stained glass design

Gratitude: the ability to order dinner and have it delivered to my door

Joy: books, finished one and started another

Awareness: Mulberry tea: tastes exactly how I envisioned if I’d grabbed a hunk of grass from my yard and steeped it in hot water! It’s pungent, almost the scent of a water-logged lawn. It’s not strong nor is it repugnant, simply bland and earthy. The upside is if the tea is chilled it is quite refreshing.

June 25

Creativity: Purchased stained glass supplies, made a carrot cake from scratch (for hubby’s birthday tomorrow)

Gratitude: errands accomplished and relaxing time at home afterward, the hubby and I tried to watch a movie; either we were both tired or the movie sucked…we opted midway to go to bed early!

Joy: signed up for mosaic classes

Awareness: How important it is to put love first…before opinions (judgments), before feelings. Just love and the rest follows.

June 26

Creativity: Cooked a lovely birthday dinner for DirtMan

Gratitude: family time, also includes phone calls from those not physically near

Joy: breakfast out with hubby and Oldest and dinner at home to celebrate, a hanging basket with Portulaca to replace the flowers destroyed by the squirrels, the first two bee balm blooms

Awareness: Realizing I am not the only sentimental fool in this family…gave hubby a gift I’d love (to remind him of a fun day we recently had) and he liked it as much as I did.

June 27

Creativity: mosaic and stained glass design (owl and dragonfly), watching mosaic tile videos (probably shouldn’t have paid for a class and just dove right in, ha!)

Gratitude: a relatively light work day for a Monday, time to read

Joy: Beautiful sunny weather but not too hot, a chance to water the flowers, left overs, a glass of wine, communication with loved ones, snuggly cat, playful dog

Awareness: Love spreads love…joy spreads joy; you get the picture.

June 28

Creativity: mosaic and stained glass design, Youtube videos on various processes

Gratitude: Hubby home safely from trip, phone call with Youngest, Oldest making me laugh, texts with sister, phone call with a friend

Joy: New project ideas! And ordered a mosaic book.

Awareness: Appreciating presence…the spirits of those in my life and how our presence in one another’s lives makes a positive difference.

June 29

Creativity: stained glass design

Gratitude: Finally got a chance to get my hair cut…I don’t especially like it but my hair grows quickly.

Joy: Finished my work day up a couple of hours early! Exchanging emails and messages with the hubby’s cousin. She is an accomplished stained glass artist and gave me great tips and places to get patterns.

Awareness: Will there ever be enough time (even when I retire) to make all the things I dream of constructing. I focus far more on things I can make with my hands (fabric and glass) than I do with writing. I think this tells me writing is something I enjoy  mostly cathartic) but really not what I want to spend the majority of my time on. This is why I no longer feel guilty for letting my blog go to one post a week. Will I continue next year? I have no idea, but I do like trying to focus on the things I find important in my life, as trivial as those things might seem to others.

June 30

Creativity: I was unable to do any creative projects. However, I dreamed of stained glass, mosaic, and fabric patterns while resting…lots of great ideas, the ones I remember! I did manage to make my hubby homemade baked spaghetti for dinner so I’m counting that as my creative effort for the day.

Gratitude: Coconut water and vitamin water.  Had a light day which worked out well since I had a bout of diverticulitis. Though it took me half a day to figure out what was wrong. I had felt off kilter for the past two days, but blamed it on a virus which it wasn’t. One would think I would know to stay away from popcorn, nuts, and other irritants, but no, I decide to give it a try anyway every now and then.

Joy: At 7 pm I was finally able to eat without my body rejecting food. A positive update from a loved one.

Awareness: I need to listen when my body speaks. Ignoring nudges often ends up with negative results.

22 thoughts on “Define and Design 2016, Week Twenty-six

  1. Sounds like a good week, Suzi.
    Happy Birthday to Dirt Man!

    I can’t imagine not writing . . . or only writing. It’s a passion, but not an obsession. I have to take time to pursue other pursuits. Sounds like you do too.

    • I enjoy writing…I need to keep it as a passion and not an obsession! I often feel guilty not penning the book currently in my head. I feel like I must write it, but it is currently not bringing me joy. I don’t think I want it as a job either. Just saying, I think it’s ok to not write it if my heart is not into it. Writing itself is quite cathartic for me; I just don’t (currently) have the discipline to write a novel.

  2. Happy Birthday to DirtMan — and many more! Sorry to hear of your stomach woes. I, too, can’t eat popcorn or nuts, but I’ve never been diagnosed with anything to say why. Any time Domer and I go to the movies, he wolfs down a big bag of popcorn…after letting me sniff the deliciousness to my heart’s content! You write so beautifully that I hate the thought of you giving it up!!

  3. Popcorn is one of my most favorite things in the world, and I just can’t stand that I can’t enjoy it any longer.
    I won’t give writing up all together. I find it quite cathartic and enjoy it. I just don’t like putting pressure on myself. I feel guilty when I’m not working on my novel, and there are so many other things I enjoy more. I just don’t currently have the self-discipline to continue…if I do it I do, if not oh well…just want to drop the self expectations and enjoy the projects I work on.

    • I really need a good dose of will power when it comes to popcorn! If I’d only known my body would some day act like this I would have savored every bite of popcorn! Somehow I think I did savor it though!

  4. Something about reading your creativity, gratitude, joy, and awareness thoughts spreads a sense of peace.
    I liked this awareness: Appreciating presence…the spirits of those in my life and how our presence in one another’s lives makes a positive difference.

  5. Awe, thanks.
    We (as in me) often take the presence of those we are with the most for granted. Their sense of humor, compassion, love, and loyalty carries my spirit.

  6. My blog is down to about one post a week too. I’m either writing other things or too busy to sit down and write. My Granny would say, it’s just a phase and this too shall pass.

    • Personally, I’m much happier letting the blog go…I mostly write for my own accountability. The guilt is with the book thing. I feel like I have a story I need to tell…this character has been taking up space in my head for too many years…and yet, I am totally undisciplined to get it done…

      • Word. I’m in the same boat. I’ve got the outline, I’ve got everyone around me telling me to do it and yet, sitting down to do it? Totally different thing.

  7. Our world and culture would be in a much better place if people would love first and ask questions later…or maybe not ask questions at all. Sounds like you had a busy and productive week.

  8. Sadly, most people can’t debate peacefully…they are absolutely insistent things must be viewed as they do. But then, there are times a simple questions saves a lot of heartache and headache.

Leave a Reply

