Define and Design 2016, Week Twenty-four

“You may not control all the events that happen to you, but you can decide not to be reduced by them.” ~Maya AngelouIMG_2249

 

June 10

Creativity: writing and reading about writing

Gratitude: a light work day, hubby got home a little earlier than usual

Joy: dinner out at a neighborhood café with DirtMan

Awareness: Read a wonderful essay about authenticity. While it’s good to be who you are (depending on who you are, I guess), the author states we don’t have to say or share everything about ourselves, but feels being sincere is utmost important. During a discussion a friend stated he felt being the best version of ourselves is the right way to be. I agree.

June 11

Creativity: Stained glass (soldering and completing project)

Gratitude: slept in, mowed grass, grocery shopping, and laundry done as well as down time to read and relax, texts from my goddaughter

Joy: Surprised an old friend by dropping by and picking her up to go to wine tasting with me

Awareness: Mindfulness vs. Mindlessness: I’ve always heard chores are more joyful when one is mindful. Two chores I am always mindless (yet creatively prolific) when doing are vacuuming and mowing. While doing both of these I seem to get my best writing or other creative project ideas.

June 12

Creativity: Designed stain glass patterns, watched youtube videos and learned some great shortcuts to implement in some of my upcoming stained glass projects, can’t wait to try them!

Gratitude: requests to order some of my stain glass pieces, went shopping for one thing and ran across a bargain and got that instead! DirtMan ordered me a new battery for my laptop as mine has experienced “permanent failure”!

Joy: mango mimosas in the back yard…trees, breeze, and birds, and most importantly it does not feel like 97 degrees! After plans for dinner out with friends who had to cancel we ordered in pizza…did not feel like cooking today.

Awareness: As much of an introvert as I am when I have plans I look forward to I am terribly disappointed when they are cancelled…I really do enjoy being with people when they are ones I love!

June 13

Creativity: Writing, mind mapping.

Gratitude: My sister is alive! She was hit by a car while riding her scooter, no broken bones but a small brain bleed, hospital keeping her for observation.

Joy:  Texts from my sister, proof she’s going to be ok. Book Club! Need I say more? (And I actually went to B&N and did not make a purchase…what a miracle! Or would that be a travesty in the eyes of a book lover?) Oldest’s sense of humor.

Awareness: Helplessness is not a good feeling…oh, how I wish I could be in two places at once. How I wish I had the power to remove pain from those I love and the world in general. Sending all the healing energy I can muster.  I don’t think that is the draining part; it is the physical sensation of stress, the crushing of the chest, the weight of the soul, the beauty of love. I am not complaining; I am acknowledging. Love leads the way.

June 14

Creativity: Stained glass design, otherwise stuck in my head daydreaming

Gratitude: My sister was released from the hospital tonight!

Joy: My sister’s voice!  My first orange daylily has bloomed. There are usually silver linings in grey skies. A yard of birds and flowers! Phone call with Youngest! A lovely, inspirational FB post shared by my nephew.

Awareness: Realization unexpected things happen for a reason even often unbeknown to us.

June 15

Creativity: Writing

Gratitude: Updating some files and tedious work I usually put off

Joy: Writer’s group! Friendships and communication.

Awareness: Enjoying the gifts of nature from inside my house: the scuffle of scurrying squirrel feet across the roof, wingtips soaring past the picture window, beautiful birdsong, early morning sunlight filtering through the tree limbs, the sweet scent of gardenia sifting through an open window…and then add the melody of wind chimes and colorful garden flags waving.

June 16

Creativity: Writing, photography

Gratitude: A husband willing to change plans in the blink of an eye for me.

Joy: Having a good friend who knows what to say and when to say it and when to just listen, and best of all how to make me laugh when I need it most.

Awareness: Some things are completely out of our control, and it’s a good thing if we really think about it…after all, we never really know the complete picture beforehand.

 

14 thoughts on “Define and Design 2016, Week Twenty-four

  1. Who could have guessed that mowing and vacuuming would bring moments of enlightenment? Maybe something about all the cutting and pulling of dirt? The mindless repetition? We’re happy, I know, to receive it wherever and whenever it comes.

  2. Suzi, I know you must be relieved your sis is out of the hospital and on the mend — what a frightening thing. I guess that’s why they call them “accidents” — because we certainly don’t plan them. Your stained glass propjects sound most interesting, and I hope you’ll post a photo when you’ve got one completed!

    • I am so happy she wasn’t hurt any worse than she was. I meant to post a pic of my latest fairy and forgot. I will try to remember on next week’s post.

    • I will try to remember to post a couple of pics last week. I really meant to post one this time. I was in a hurry to post before I headed out of town. You know how it goes when we hurry things up!

Leave a Reply

