Define and Design 2016, Week Fourteen

“For example, the wind has its reasons. We just don’t notice as we go about our lives. But then, at some point, we are made to notice. The wind envelops you with a certain purpose in mind, and it rocks you. The wind knows everything that’s inside you. And not just the wind. Everything, including a stone. They all know us very well. From top to bottom. It only occurs to us at certain times. And all we can do is go with those things. As we take them in, we survive, and deepen.”  ― Haruki Murakami, Hear the Wind Sing

IMG_2081

This has absolutely nothing to do with this post, but I love this macro shot I took when I was in the mountains.

Creativity: Writing

Gratitude: I hugged a tree today

Joy: Blooms on my lilac and Carolina spice bushes

Awareness: I was standing on the driver side of my car spraying the oak pollen off. I felt a breeze about the time I heard a whoosh as a limb flew over my head and hit the car roof snapping the branch in half and with a thud it landed on the ground on the passenger side. I realize as I try to be cognizant of my surroundings, some things can’t be predicted. The wind has blown warm and hard all day, and the clouds have festered into dark, angry mobs as the impending storm rolls this way.

April 2

Creativity: Quilting

Gratitude: I got caught in the pouring rain, and the chill against my skin felt fabulous, frizzy hair and all!

Joy: An evening wedding at the best venue ever! Have I told you how much I love weddings? And champagne! Oh, and cake! Celebrating love, happiness, and friendships is a blessed event.

Awareness: Sopping wet I sat down with a cup of hot herbal tea. I leaned back and closed my eyes, feeling the hot liquid go down my throat and warm my body. The rain pounded on the roof, as soothing as a shower massage. I opened my eyes to see the rain spraying sideways across the yard. Sprinkles splattered as they hit the base of the squirrel feeder. A rivulet ran beneath the base and slowly dripped only to disappear into the soil.

April 3

Creativity: quilting

Gratitude: The hubby did some updates on my phone and laptop

Joy: I slept in this morning (9:00 is sleeping in for me) and my coffee was ready when I got up.

Awareness: I had sugar last night and some today along with processed food, how sluggish I have felt.

April 4

Creativity: writing and designing

Gratitude: Back to clean eating today… Restricting processed food from my diet has resulted in more energy, clearer thinking, and better quality sleep.

Joy: Phone call with Youngest

Awareness: The sunshine hugs my face as I walk outside and the wind invites me for a ride. A cardinal darts into the gardenia bush, rattling the braches and shaking the leaves like a feather duster.

April 5

Creativity: Making homemade bread and spiffing up the recipe

Gratitude: home cooked meal, leisurely evening, reading

Joy: laughing at some silly jokes, my sister has the same humor; funny thing is we could have been the butt of the jokes, but fortunately not

Awareness: The howling wind caught my attention. I looked out to see what appeared to be huge snowflakes. I assumed it was actually the whirly birds of the oak tree traveling with the winds current. I focused and realized it was indeed snow, flowing and dancing, and melting in thin air. And yet the sun was shining, no rainbow but somehow I pictured Mother Nature smirking.

April 6

Creativity: All I can claim on the creativity front is reading and cooking Asiago Chicken for dinner.

Gratitude: I can call or text my sister and she always gets me

Joy: Seeing my friends at my favorite gourmet wine store and there was a particular wine they have that my friend has wanted to try; they had two bottles of it left so I bought one for her and one for me!

Awareness: Music has been my friend today, traveling in and out and perhaps directing my mood, comforting me and energizing me. Without it today, I would have been not just lonely but lost.

April 7

Creativity: writing

Gratitude: The expected morning rain was only a bit of a spit early in the morning and that was it, yay!

Joy: the fresh scent of clean laundry

Awareness: The heat upstairs was a bit much while I exercised on the elliptical so I opened the windows. The wind howled, competing with the whirl of the elliptical, airplanes whooshed through the sky, and wind chimes clanged and battered the tree trunks. Cars and trucks revved up and down the boulevard. All this noisy activity while the sun quietly vied for her place in the sky. She drifted in and out of clouds and smiled each time she came in the lead. The sun peeked through the eyes of a metal dog yard décor hanging from a pine, casting a shadow against the tree trunk which looked like an owl head with four dangling bell-chain legs…funny how shadows can appear to be something they are not at all.

19 thoughts on “Define and Design 2016, Week Fourteen

    • Just finished another one of the baby onesie ones, and doing a little here and there of the dragonfly panel. Designing a surf quilt for another little guy as well.

  1. I’ve been watching the lilacs lately on my walks. They come and go so fast. And–oh!–they smell so good. You also have cardinals and a gardenia bush. Nice! It sounds like a very good week.

  2. Spring is definitely having some growing pains, huh, Suzi? One day, we’re warm and pleasant; the next, cold, grey, and blustery! Glad you’re safe from the flying branch!

    What a lovely week you’ve had — friends, family, celebrations, and ordinary days made extraordinary just because you choose to see them that way.

  3. So pleased that branch missed you.. You so love so many of the things I do.. Hugging a tree,, taking notice of those small things in the micro 🙂 Freshly baked bread.. sewing and fresh laundry.. 🙂 We have so many things to be filled in gratitude for..
    Today I was grateful for a sunny Sunday morning, I got two lines of washing blowing in the wind.. and went to hoe the front garden and weed.. 🙂
    Now Sunday Dinner is about to be served 🙂
    In love and gratitude Suzi.. I always enjoy your weeks activities xxx

  4. I’ve missed some of your posts, but am slowly catching up. the simplicity of this shot is beautiful! It’s quite a stark contrast to the riot of spring color, but I really love it. I think it’s wonderful how you continue to come up with creative sparks for these mental exercises. xo

  5. Thanks for introducing that particular Murakami quote. It’s exquisite.
    Loved hearing about your moments of gratitude. Life is in the little things, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

