Define and Design 2016, Week Seven

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven:

a time to be born and a time to die,

a time to plant and a time to uproot,

a time to kill and a time to heal,

a time to tear down and a time to build,

a time to weep and a time to laugh,

a time to mourn and a time to dance,

a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them,

a time to embrace and a time to refrain,

a time to search and a time to give up,

a time to keep and a time to throw away,

a time to tear and a time to mend,

a time to be silent and a time to speak,

a time to love and a time to hate,

a time for war and a time for peace.”  ~Ecclesiastes 3:1-8, NIV

IMG_0479

February 12

Creativity: writing

Gratitude: snow, work day ended early, but not enough snow to interrupt our plans

Joy: winetasting and dinner out with the hubby

Awareness: Starlings flew through the wall of snowflakes like darts. The harder the snow fell, the pairs of cardinals flitted about the gardenia and soon scattered across the lawn. The red of cardinals against a pure snow is breathtaking.

February 13

Creativity: Zentangles

Gratitude: got our taxes done

Joy: a day of togetherness

Awareness: A sigh of accomplishment, the easy breathing, how the body relaxes after finishing something you dread doing.

February 14

Creativity: sketching

Gratitude: a family day

Joy: making a lovely dinner and desert for my family

Awareness:  Having been absorbed in the kitchen I did not notice the aromas. I went upstairs and sat at my desk and suddenly I was overwhelmed with delectable invitation to return to the kitchen.

February 15

Creativity: Impromptu photo lesson

Gratitude: waking up to a winter wonderland, but having rain wash it away in a few hours

Joy: watching chick flicks by myself

Awareness: The rustle of flannel against denim, the pull of a zipper, the clinking of a belt buckling, the slipping of feet into boots, the thud of booted feet upon the stairs…sounds of early morning rising.

February 16

Creativity: Mandala

Gratitude: a beautiful warm day

Joy: watching a movie with the hubby

Awareness: Warm wind whooshed my hair across my face. The warmth and the noise transported me to the beach on a spring day. The reality: pine trees instead of palm trees, dead grass instead of sand, singing cardinals instead of squawking seagulls. Still it was warm; I’ll take it!

February 17

Creativity: Tangram art and mind mapping a project

Gratitude: the value of integrity

Joy: giggling children

Awareness:  Sunshine lifts my spirit, of course it could be the abundance of chocolate I’ve eaten!)I can’t help but smile every time I pass a window with bright rays reaching out to dance with me.

February 18

Creativity: drawing and writing

Gratitude: I have a thing about accepting life as it unfolds rather than the way I want it. I have faith in it, and that alone carries me a long way. Today I am grateful I am not in control.

Joy: It is National Wine Drinking Day, so therefore it is my civil duty to drink a glass of wine. In case you’re interested, National Beer Day is April 7.

Awareness: Today the sun put on a spectacular light show as it speckled the long trunks of the pines and highlighted limbs of needles here and there. She cast her eye upon the green shoots of the early hyacinths and daffodils. She lit a path across the cobblestone. She was most welcoming to her guests.

17 thoughts on “Define and Design 2016, Week Seven

  1. I love the image of starlings flying through snowflakes. I’ve never witnessed cardinals against the snow. I am certain it is breathtaking. Your awareness paragraphs have great vivid details. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I’ve always loved this passage from Ecclesiastes. It reminds us during bad times, “This, too, shall pass” and in good times, “Enjoy the moment.”
    Cardinals seem to stand out in snowy backgrounds, but they’re equally striking when the world is green and new again!
    Sounds as if you’ve had a lovely week — I’m a bit green myself that I haven’t tackled the taxes yet, ha!!

  3. Yep, there is a time for everything, and I am so excited about quitting my job and doing something that I love! Only 5 more days to hear my boss yell “Biiiiiiizzzzzz!!” across the office. YES!

  4. Another beautiful week We had one day of snow only to go the following day to rain… Loved that you created a Mandala… Have another creative and joyful week Suzie.. so enjoy reading all you have been doing..
    Blessings Sue xxx

  5. You had me at wine tasting! These exercises look like they are a perfect way to hone in on the small details that make life so rich. I love reading them.

  6. I think those verses from Ecclesiastes were a favorite of President Kennedy.

    All your “awareness” paragraphs are so vivid and beautiful. One of the best things about being a writer and an artist is the pleasure of noticing the world more keenly.

Leave a Reply

