Define and Design 2016, Week Two

“A man sees in the world what he carries in his heart.” ~Johann Wolfgang Von Goethe, From Faust

IMG_0608 1

Week Two

January 8

Creativity: Signed up for a writing class and looking for another art class

Gratitude: A doctor appointment I’ve patiently waited seven weeks for, and with good results and was taken a few minutes early. Though heavy traffic was reported, it wasn’t nearly as bad as I’d anticipated. I used to work in this area, and I am thankful I no longer have to drive it daily.

Joy: My son cooking a salmon dinner, a quiet evening with the hubby, having a few hours of R&R this morning

Awareness: I was protected by a canopy of trees as Mother Nature shook her long, wet, silver tresses; the fog and sky waltzed until they became one.

 

January 9

Creativity: Stained glass

Gratitude: A full day of errands scheduled and all accomplished

Joy: Wine tasting

Awareness: The random lights at night in our dark house generate lovely shadow art on our walls…a dimmed lamp creates a rising moon behind the sofa and a sun to the canvas above.

 

January 10

Creativity: Stained glass and drawing

Gratitude: No obligations what so ever today,

Joy: I was absorbed in art inside listening to the wind howl outside…I went out to my delight to find it was 71 degrees and that wind felt wonderful.

Awareness: My body speaks to me (stiff neck, sore back) telling me to slow down, not to spend too much time on certain tasks.

 

January 11

Creativity: Drawing and quilting

Gratitude: My hands…my hands perform a multitude of tasks in a day, not to mention the pleasurables which include the majority of my creative endeavors

Joy: Book club

Awareness: The evening cantata of my house: the stovetop hums while the soup burps, the furnace hisses, a teapot whistles while the computer whispers, voices murmur, the steps creak upon the pitter patter of the cat, the dog’s claws clatter across the wooden floor, and a glass shatters to the floor…the beautiful melody of life.

 

January 12

Creativity: studying art magazines, art journal

Gratitude: clean water

Joy: Talking “art mediums and methods” with my friend while our husbands talked “shop”

Awareness: Calming the compulsion of creation is as much of a struggle as shushing the voice of procrastination.

 

January 13

Creativity: art journal, reading about writing

Gratitude: Being able to pull a precooked casserole from the freezer and pop it in the oven, voila dinner is done!

Joy: Smiling faces and giggles

Awareness: Purple, green, yellow, pink, and blue, lines defined in an arc against a white canvas…with the swipe of a fingertip they overlap and blend or someone might see it as a smudge; the same thing goes with altered dreams. Perception is in the eye of the beholder…life is art.

 

January 14

Creativity: stained glass design

Gratitude: socks

Joy: Acknowledgement, even in the silence

Awareness: Silence. It mingles in the crevice between my throat and tongue, waiting for connection of heart and mind. It gathers in the space between pen and paper. It covers me like a warm, soft blanket as I lay awake at night. It penetrates my bones as I walk through life and is the battery of my existence.

 

27 thoughts on “Define and Design 2016, Week Two

  1. What a wonderful, busy week you’ve had, Suzi! I love the practice of taking count of one’s blessings each day, and I’m inspired at your expanding it to creativity and awareness. Easy on that back of yours, though — can’t afford problems there!

  2. Beautiful Suzi.. love your creative days, the silence and the art and writing.. Perfect… and oooh so love those days those meals we pre-cooked come in handy.. 🙂 straight from the freezer..

    Love and Blessings xxx Sue

  3. This is a lovely way to reflect on the things we take for granted. I especially enjoy reading your awareness passages. My favorite is the “cantata” in your house, which includes a broken glass but doesn’t indicate that hearing it happen made you angry or upset- just aware. A great way to stay calm and keep things in perspective!

  4. Perhaps it’s the comfort of my age or an inner calmness, but I don’t find myself getting as easily upset now.Years ago the anxious me would never have thought I’d find this momentum…I like peace.

Leave a Reply

