The Dog Days of Our Lives

"A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself."   -Billings

“A dog is the only thing on earth that loves you more than he loves himself.” -Billings

It doesn’t take much for a dog to wag his way into our lives, and then we’re licked. Yes, they’re clever like that.

You might think you’re so intelligent there’s nothing a dog can teach you. I beg to differ. We have much to learn from these four-legged, furry friends.

Dogs love us even when we don’t love ourselves. (Look a little deeper, there’s something wonderful the dog sees within us.)

Only a dog can turn a walk around the block into a great adventure. (A simple task can hold many joys…don’t miss this moment by living in the past or the future.)

Dogs are good judges of character.  (If my dog doesn’t like you chances are extremely high I won’t either.)

Wagging tails make friends easily. (A smiling face will do the same. Kindness and sociability open many doors to friendship.)

Happiness is free for the taking. (Sniff a little and you’ll find yours.)

Dogs teach us humility. Seriously, any creature who can sniff your butt and turn around and lick your face in a matter of seconds must be able to laugh at himself and love with a full heart! Not to mention he has no problem eating your leftovers.)

In case you didn’t know, today is National Dog Day.

Wag your tail, (or smile if the case may be!) and spread some love today!

31 thoughts on “The Dog Days of Our Lives

  1. I like your subtle messages Suzi. I had never known the love for a dog till my daughter’s Luke won my heart. Even she was surprised the connection we conjured up within moments and the way he could sit comfortably next to me, more so I was astounded at my comfort in his company. I give all credit to him for showing me the love.

    • You’ve got that right! Dirt Man used to joke he wished I’d greet him at the door like the door, so I met him at the door the next day, danced around like a fool and licked his cheek…he thought I’d flipped my lid and then got a good laugh out of it!

      • Yes Cats are independent coming and going as they wish .. I guess we were lucky in having among our Cats an exceptional one who lived until she was 21.. 🙂 She gave us all a lot of love.. 🙂 and just knew when you needed it too 🙂

  2. Love, love, love this post! As a huge dog person, I totally agree they have many lessons to teach us. I can’t imagine my life without a dog. Tanner just turned eight years old….already past middle age for a big dog. 😦 But he’s still going strong. Nothing says unconditional love quite like a dog.

  3. I love the photo. Dogs have a great deal of patience, too. Their sense of time and a schedule are much different from ours. They can both hold us to a routine and make us slow down and smell the roses. When my dogs tell me it is time for a walk, every thing else I “need” to do becomes less important.

  4. I was actually a bit nervous with Hannah and Jacob’s dogs moving in with them – we’d been without our beloved Ed for nearly 3 years, but I love having them, even if Red sheds like crazeballs!

Leave a Reply

