Today’s Pondering

Beauty and thorns. Life is filled with both. Where you choose to focus is up to you. ~Me

Beauty and thorns. Life is filled with both. Where you choose to focus is up to you. ~Me

Sometimes you must let go. You let go of the untrue words written or said about you or someone you love. Do you let go because they are untrue? Perhaps. Do you let go because you think the person spewing them is small minded and self-serving? Perhaps the thought crosses your mind, but then you remember those words are from their journey not yours. You let go because they do not serve your purpose, it serves theirs. And their purpose isn’t your concern. You let go because you remember not to take things personally. You let go because poison is lethal. You let go because you must move on. You must move on because you don’t want to be stuck in those words or that person’s life. You let go to restore your own peace of mind. You let go to love. Because in the end that truly is all that’s left.

35 thoughts on “Today’s Pondering

  1. This is beautiful. On Monday I had some nasty words with an ignorant woman and I’ve written a couple lines about it trying to purge the experience from my psyche, but these words of yours are absolutely perfect. Beautifully written.

    • Hurtful things can be difficult to purge. There have been times I’ve let them go only to take them back, and times I’ve forgiven only to allow certain people to do the same things over…I’ve learned some people are just that way, and the best I can do for me is to love them anyway but keep them at a distance. Right? Wrong? I don’t know, but it helps me keep peace within myself.

  2. “You let go because poison is lethal. You let go because you must move on. You must move on because you don’t want to be stuck in those words or that person’s life. You let go to restore your own peace of mind.”

    Amen, Suzi!

    Beautifully expressed post! You said so much in so few words.

    Have a terrific Thursday, my friend!
    X

  3. Beautifully written, Suzi, and something I needed to read this morning! Just received a rather nasty email from someone I don’t know, and my first instinct was to respond accordingly. Nothing ever achieved when bitter words fly back and forth. Probably much better to ignore the meanness and peacefully detach from the drama!

    • Sorry you’re a recipient of nastiness. I think it’s better to ignore. I’ve responded and regretted, but I’ve never regretted ignoring. Some people you can talk with and get some where and others talk without listening.

  4. Letting go is my mantra. Sometimes it happens immediately, other times over a period of months. Ultimately, though walking way to start at a new beginning.

  5. A great post, and I loved the picture as well. I’ve heard two things that resonate with me: Other people’s opinions of us are none of our business, and; Be kind, it’s hardly ever the wrong thing to do. Okay, three things: I think we need cake!

  6. but then you remember those words are from their journey not yours. You let go because they do not serve your purpose, it serves theirs. That is an interesting way to look at situations like these. Insightful and wise. These words made me pause and think twice about how to respond to people like this. You never cease to amaze me with your inspirational words.

  7. Brilliantly said Suzi.. ” You let go because they do not serve your purpose, it serves theirs.”.. And I thank you for this.. Another timely reminder to free one’self of others energy .. 🙂 ❤ Hugs Sue

Leave a Reply

