The Flux Of All Things

Who looks upon a river in a meditative hour, and is not reminded of the flux of all things? Throw a stone into the stream, and the circles that propagate themselves are the beautiful type of all influence. — (Ralph Waldo Emerson, Nature)

Who looks upon a river in a meditative hour, and is not reminded of the flux of all things? Throw a stone into the stream, and the circles that propagate themselves are the beautiful type of all influence. — (Ralph Waldo Emerson, Nature)

The obstacle along the path creates the melody from which life flows. Much changes when we are rerouted…the process, the view, and even the outcome. We often lament what we’ve missed when plans shift.

Sometimes I allow disappointment to prevent me from embracing new adventures. Most times I prefer to float rather than swim, but I’m learning the wetter I get the more refreshing life is…

28 thoughts on “The Flux Of All Things

  1. Suzi, you speak much truth for many of us about change – the process, the view, and even the outcome. And I’ve realized over the years that when I make a change or a change suddenly happens, I have to be open to a new adventure.

    “I’m learning the wetter I get the more refreshing life is…”

    Yes, exactly!

    Gorgeous photo!
    X

  2. Obstacles and adventures make our life more interesting and challenging. I love adventures, only if my loved ones don’t dissuade me from undertaking them, I would take them more often.
    lovely picture!

  3. We don’t use the word “flux” very much except in the phrase “in a state of flux,” so I looked it up. There’s the Physics definitions and the three Chemistry definitions, and then the simple definitions, most having to do with flow. The second definition is the flowing in of the tide. It’s beautiful and restful to think of just flowing. Lovely photo a post.

    • Exactly! Sometimes it directs me elsewhere entirely and other times just a different path to the same destination, perhaps there was someone I was supposed to meet or learn on the new route.

  4. Change is hard, Suzi. We tend to settle into a comfortable routine, thinking everything is cozy when eventually, it becomes a rut. The only way we can really grow is to welcome change and embrace it. Bend with the flow rather than resist. Beautiful photo, beautiful words!

  5. A beautiful image to accompany your wonderful muse.. Yes sometimes it is only by stepping out into the river of life that we enable the ripples to flow around us.. We may make a splash as we enter.. but soon all finds its own level and calm.
    Learning to float along rather than swim against the current..
    Loved your thoughts today Suzie.. Hugs Sue ❤

  6. “Rerouted.” That would be one way of describing my life! 🙂 Sometimes I think I’m just treading water….neither sinking or swimming through the detours. But, there’s always scenery to enjoy whatever path we take if we will only pay attention and be willing to see it. xoxo

Leave a Reply

