Meditation Made Simple

To those who complain of the complexity of modern life, he [Henry David Thoreau] might reply,

To those who complain of the complexity of modern life, he [Henry David Thoreau] might reply, “If you want inner peace find it in solitude, not speed, and if you would find yourself, look to the land from which you came and to which you go.” ~Stewart Udall, The Quiet Crisis, 1963

Often it is the simple things in life that pull at my heartstrings. The things I took for granted (and even sometimes scoffed at) as a child now give me immense comfort. To me there is nothing as warming as the feeling of home: Starry skies, the ceaseless call of the whippoorwill, splintered barns with rusty hinges, dirt roads that go on and on, the shocking cold of a mountain stream, the scent of impending rain while in a forest of pine, colorful fields of wildflowers, mulberries eaten straight from the tree…I become immersed in the senses of now.

31 thoughts on “Meditation Made Simple

  1. Beautifully expressed, Suzi! And you are so right, I too have many things that I took for granted as child, such as, the feeling of home. I never thought I would ever moved back to my home and roots, but I’m so glad I did because I now see the beauty of it all. In fact, I appreciate it more.

    In the present. In the now.

    LOVE your photo!

    X

    • I loved all the nature around me as a child, but sometimes got envious of the convenience and “public entertainment” available to city kids. Now, I realize how fortunate I was.

  2. Beautifully expressed, Suzi! I especially love the quote you included — perhaps that’s why so many today don’t feel they’re able to meditate? They just can’t (or won’t) endure solitude!

    • I love the simple beauty of the old home place where my father was born and raised. To me walking among natural beauty is meditation. All is quiet and serene within.

  3. Beautiful Suzi, These are the gifts we all are given and yet so seldom do we appreciate them, Thank you for reminding us of the simple things in life.. They are truly to be treasured.. We are truly blessed when we truly SEE ..

    Lovely post Suzi.. Love and Light my friend xox Sue

Leave a Reply

