Love Livin’ It Up!

Five Photos, Five Stories #3

I have found that if you love life, life will love you back - Arthur Rubinstein

I have found that if you love life, life will love you back – Arthur Rubinstein

We pass this reminder as we travel to visit my MIL in the nursing home. We call this hillside Graffiti Rocks. It is a range of rocks along a mountainside on route to a college town. Various messages, names, and school tags are colorfully spray painted on the rocks. “Love life” is good advice any day, but seems to make us feel a bit more grateful for freedom and physical ability as we approach a place where age has diminished those very things.

I invite Manee Truatz to accept the challenge.Β If you wish to play the rules are that you post a picture a day with a story, fiction or non-fiction, or a poem and nominate one fellow blogger a day to participate.

23 thoughts on “Love Livin’ It Up!

  1. Good reminder, but I can’t help but think how much more attractive that rock would be without the graffiti. πŸ˜›

    And that’s the second quote by an Arthur this morning. The first:

    β€œHealth is not everything, but without health everything is nothing.” ~ Arthur Schopenhauer

  2. Huge fan of street art but not graffiti so much. These rocks must be near a high school or college. I remember in Massachusetts everybody turned a blind eye to the one giant granite boulder that was regularly spray painted by rival schools. There was a sort of tacit agreement that none of the other boulders would be defaced by graffiti and the spray painters never strayed over into virgin territory.

    • It’s on route to W&L and VMI. It’s roadside going over a mountain. The only time I travel that road is going to the nursing home. Not sure if property is privately owned or not, but what a pain! Not that I’d want graffiti on my property, but I try to use it as a message to me on my way there.

  3. The message is great – I agree that the graffiti is annoying but at least it’s less destructive than many other things. A demonstration of a basic lack of respect perhaps?

  4. I’ve never been a fan of graffiti, but I’ve got to hand it to the “artists” — at least they’ve captured something most of us can agree with! You”re more than halfway finished with this challenge, Suzi — keep it up!!

  5. Great quote, great rock message and great photo capture, Suzi!

    I live in a city where graffiti is prevalent, so I kinda think of it as art; especially with a wonderful message such at this.

    β€œLove life” is good advice any day, but seems to make us feel a bit more grateful for freedom and physical ability as we approach a place where age has diminished those very things.”

    Good point! And you’re right. We should love life and be grateful now, in the present.

    Hope you’re having a super week, my friend!
    X

  6. A strong, yet simply stated message. Nice photo capture.
    I’ve missed blogging and hope to be back soon.
    ps. Your profile pic is lovely.

Leave a Reply

