The Crazy Gene…Or Is It Simply A Great Imagination?

Why do I love clouds? Because you can't save a cloud like you can save a leaf or a flower or a rock — clouds are now. ~Terri Guillemets

Why do I love clouds? Because you can’t save a cloud like you can save a leaf or a flower or a rock — clouds are now. ~Terri Guillemets

Do you ever just sit and watch the clouds? On Mother’s Day my mom and I sat on her front porch and did just that. What an incredible relaxing day we had! However, I discovered another commonality between the two of us. I have this rather strange attribute; I tend to see faces in odd places like clouds, trees, rocks, mountains, etc… The amazing coincidence is my mother and I saw the same formations such as a woman kissing a man’s chin. We would say what we were looking at and the other could point it out in the sky. My sister thought we were crazy…I told her she needed to exercise her imagination.

I have Himalayan salt lamps throughout my house, and I see faces from every angle. I see the same faces every time I look at it. I suppose perceiving patterns visually is just something I do. Is it a habit? Is it genetic?

What I did not know is there is a term for this phenomenon – Pareidolia. I read about it on several sights. It is the visual form of matrixing. It is said those who have it have an evolutionary advantage over others. However, another sight questioned whether it is borderline schizophrenic. Hmmm….I choose to believe I have a great imagination rather than to think I’m crazy (and don’t go off on me for using a politically incorrect term!) …then again, some of the so called crazies of the world have been proven to be the most intelligent and imaginative of all –That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it! Just please don’t administer the Rorschach Inkblot Test to me because I fear my results, ha!

I will dare to ask the question: What do you see in the clouds in the above photo?

45 thoughts on “The Crazy Gene…Or Is It Simply A Great Imagination?

  1. I see a dragon blowing out a great ball of steam. I also see faces in things – like driftwood. I’ll be posting a couple of those photos from the coast one day before too long.

  2. I definitely don’t think you’re crazy, Suzi (or perhaps, that’s just hopeful thinking because I tend to do the same thing, ha!)

    If I look at the bright white clouds, I see a man with sunglasses. When I look at the dark-colored clouds, I see a hand stretched out to feed an immense fish with its wide-open mouth.

    Say it with me again — we’re not crazy. We’re blessedly fanciful and creative!!

  3. “Do you ever just sit and watch the clouds?”

    Yes I do, Suzi! And it’s one of my favorite things to do! Thanks for sharing the information link for this phenomenon because I had no idea there was even a name for it.

    When I look at that picture, I see the hand (and light) of God reaching out in creation!

    And btw, it’s a faaaaaabulous photograph!

    X

  4. I see faces in the linoleum, the curtains, the paint on the wall. I once read or was told that people who see faces are more spiritually connected and psychic. I think being psychic runs in families. It does not make you crazy. I have often wondered if those who are medicated for hearing voices really are just hearing spirit, but I am no expert.
    I also love to look at clouds, but I don’t do it enough. I am too busy planting flowers!

  5. A dragon with a skinny neck blowing smoke in the face of a big fat baby or maybe it’s a teddy bear. Whatever it is, he’s afraid; he’s making fists over his chest.

    My theory (off the top of my head) is that Pareidolia is a skill that’s particularly useful to artists, architects and engineers, the kind of people who need to be good at seeing spacial relations.

    Do you like the Himalayan salt lamps? I’ve been thinking of getting one.

    • That’s a great one!
      I do see it being of use to those with particular talents or trades.
      Yes, I love them. They create a certain ambiance in the house. I had turned them off for a few weeks, and I see a shift in my mood and energy lever, much lower…not sure if it’s coincidence or not. Going to turn them back on and see. Also have had headaches, so it’s possible the negative ions have been doing a great job neutralizing the pet dander in the air and the positive ions put out by the computers and other electronic devices.

  6. A fantastic picture and an equally wonderful quote! Yes, it is fun to watch the clouds, some of my poems are inspired from them. I actually have a picture of an evening sky, which very clearly shows a chariot of Lord Krishna or my imagination says that…such is the power of cloud formation!

  7. Thank you for giving a name to this trait. I see faces in everything too. Forever ago I sponge-painted our bathroom walls with wee sponges (that took for bloody ever). I’m surrounded by faces above me when I shower. Tiny as they are, I don’t make their acquaintance, but they are benign. That’s a good thing, considering they see me in the raw. I can’t name what I see in your cloud, but I do see a friendly entity. I did click over to the Wiklpedia site and noticed the suggestion of a spiritual aspect to this ability. Now I’ll survey my family members. We already know we’re oddballs. Let us count another facet on the unround shape of our ball.

    • Ha, I might would find it a bit unnerving with those faces staring at me in the nude!
      I’ve always known I was an oddball, but I’m ok with it…at least, now I am though I fought it for years!

  8. It is said those who have it have an evolutionary advantage over others. I’d go with that one! And why is “crazy” necessarily a bad term? 🙂 You are correct….most of the greatest artistic minds were considered a bit crazy!

  9. This so reminds me of when I was a child. I saw faces as well on the backs of chairs and the linoleum. I kind of forgot that.

    What jumps out at me in this pic is someone’s leg and a big boot kicking. Weird or what?

  10. There are at least two creatures flying in the clouds, facing one another. One in the top right which looks a bit like a dragon, the other in the bottom left. We often see “sylphs” in the clouds…. large airy humanoid beings drifting across the sky, helping to clean up the impurities lurking there. Often when I take photos in the garden, my partner sees faces lurking about in them. You are in good company! One of the earliest things a child learns to do is recognize its mother’s and father’s face. We are pre-programmed to find faces around us. What a wonderful day with your mother! Thank you for this wonderful story 😉 Best wishes, WG

  11. I love gazing at the clouds and the sky. It is an effort to pay attention to the beauty that I am able to witness, even though sometimes I am not in a place to appreciate it. There is no better reminder than the sky.

    I see an illuminated alien.

Leave a Reply

