Be The Peace You Want

“All blame is a waste of time. No matter how much fault you find with another, and regardless of how much you blame him, it will not change you.” ~ Wayne Dyer

We may not be able to control what awaits us when we cross the bridge, but what we do with what we find is entirely our choice.

We may not be able to control what awaits us when we cross the bridge, but what we do with what we find is entirely our choice.

This week has been one of unrest. The media is pointing fingers. Society at large blames politics, religion, race, or anyone but themselves. It’s not a pretty sight and it’s not a good feeling. Many factors add up to a certain point in time, but ultimately we make choices. Casting blame, making excuses, nor stating opinions changes anything. Be the change you want to see in the world. One person might not change the entire world; but if you are the change you want it can start with you.

We are each responsible for our actions or inaction. We daily make choices to hurt or heal. Accountability starts with me and you.

Personally, I’m going to concentrate on maintaining my own inner peace amongst the chaos and negativity.

“In the long run, we shape our lives, and we shape ourselves. The process never ends until we die. And the choices we make are ultimately our own responsibility.” ~Eleanor Roosevelt

42 thoughts on “Be The Peace You Want

    • Perhaps it’s a longtime ingrained human response… People fight for what they want and others fight in response. I think violence often stems from fear and anger.
      We can only hope love catches on and the world will be filled with peace.

  1. Human nature is so weird…we always point fingers at others, what we think and do is always right, we never think of changing our own thoughts…we are all alike but we want peace, failing to understand that it begins from us. If I am at peace and don’t blame the other person, he would still do so! We are all interconnected, so is blame and peace. Human demeanor and thinking has not changed for ages, it has only been camouflaged.

    • I was always told whenever one points a finger he has three pointing back at himself.
      There may be bad in the world, but I believe much good exists. Again, good or bad, the choice is ours.

  2. Suzi, thank you so much for sharing these words today, which are much needed during this time. I’ve been thinking and feeling the same thing.

    “Be the change you want to see in the world. One person might not change the entire world; but if you are the change you want it can start with you.”

    Amen, my friend. Amen!

    More violence is not the answer.

    Again, thank you.
    X

    • I understand completely. There are certain people I must be around at times, and I must guard and protect my peace as well to keep negativity from pulling me under.

  3. Well stated, Suzi. Sometimes it’s frightening to hear of man’s inhumanity to his fellow man. And with all the chaos, anger, and unrest, it’s even more imperative that we find our own “happy place” so we don’t get sucked into it. Not that we turn a deaf ear to society’s problems; rather, that we refuse to ADD to the disharmony and we keep ourselves calm.

  4. I’ve faced a bit of negativity this week. So it’s a relief to read your beautiful post. I like your resolution: “I’m going to concentrate on maintaining my own inner peace amongst the chaos and negativity.” That’s the best way to go.

    • I find the less I am on social media the more peaceful I am. Not that I want to become a hermit (though at times I’d love it, ha!0) I need to find my own happy medium.

  5. We only have control over ourselves, but unfortunately if we are not careful we can be influenced negatively by those around us. We control ourselves and hope that others will follow our example.

  6. Another quote by the inestimable Eleanor Roosevelt. Her concept of personal responsibility is one that I deeply admire and one that is all too unfamiliar nowadays with the blaming and finger-pointing in so many areas of our society. Thanks for this post, Suzi.

  7. I know with my wife’s health problems I’ve had to limit information. Its amazing how people become ‘experts” on what you should do.

    • Thank you, Lily. I try to allow the words of my heart to surface rather than allow my ego to rant on, apologies if my ego overstepped my heart in any of my post.

  8. Trying to find that inner peace is integral in maintaining your cadence. I struggle with it, but ultimately keep that goal in the back of mind. Thanks for the reminder.

  9. That’s why I don’t really watch the news anymore – I can’t change what’s going on in the big picture, so it’s best not to know at all 😀 Hugs!

  10. Suzie this was so well said.. And you know I totally agree with your sentiments.. Lets get out of the Blame game and take personal responsibility for our actions.. And start and lead by example the lives we want our children’s children to grow up in the world we are creating.. We can only change Ourselves.. We are the society, we are the communities, we are the families… and if we cannot agree and live in peace within our own small circles how can the world ever hope to heal.. It all begins with us..
    Many thanks for this post Suzie.. Peace to you my friend xx

  11. Love your position “Personally, I’m going to concentrate on maintaining my own inner peace amongst the chaos and negativity.” It is amazing people don’t grasp the fact helping yourself and others is done better with an open hand not a fist.

  12. I quit following the news and that helps my inner peace (I found I couldn’t handle the world’s stress in addition to that in my own life at the moment.) There is a song I like to listen to that basically speaks the message of ‘if you don’t like what you see in the world – do something about it.’ How can we possibly complain about all that is wrong if we sit idly by and just let it happen?

  13. A PS for you Suzicate – I shared your post with a friend who was having some personal issues. It had a profound impact and helped him. WORDS DO MATTER. Thanks for yours.

Leave a Reply

