On Death and Rebirth

“When love awakens in your life, in the night of your heart, it is like the dawn breaking within you. Where before there was anonymity, now there is intimacy; where before there was fear, now there is courage; where before in your life there was awkwardness, now there is a rhythm of grace and gracefulness; where before you used to be jagged, now you are elegant and in rhythm with your self. When love awakens in your life, it is like a rebirth, a new beginning.” ― John O'Donohue, Anam Cara: A Book of Celtic Wisdom

“When love awakens in your life, in the night of your heart, it is like the dawn breaking within you. Where before there was anonymity, now there is intimacy; where before there was fear, now there is courage; where before in your life there was awkwardness, now there is a rhythm of grace and gracefulness; where before you used to be jagged, now you are elegant and in rhythm with your self. When love awakens in your life, it is like a rebirth, a new beginning.” ― John O’Donohue, Anam Cara: A Book of Celtic Wisdom

We die and rebirth aspects of ourselves time again as we discover our true selves. We let go of conditioned beliefs as we begin to think for ourselves. People leave our lives and new ones enter throughout the seasons of a lifetime. Our experiences bring wisdom to our souls. There is a peace about us when we learn to accept what we once didn’t.  When we love ourselves, we see the beauty of life and find joy in the simple state of being. At stages of our lives we take things for granted, and later have a great appreciation for them. I experienced one of these moments this past weekend.

I was sitting on my mother’s porch (out in the country) early in the morning drinking a cup of coffee. While it seemed the world was sleeping, people that is, life around me was in full swing. Cardinals and blue jays were singing and the squirrels were rustling about the oaks, cedars, and maples. I could hear the train keening over the mountain. Once the echo disappeared in the distance I heard something I’d never heard from my position. The gurgle from the small creek below the property played like a lullaby upon my soul. I spent much of my youth perched upon the bank or rocks in the creek writing poetry while listening to that very sound. It was such a joy to hear this at the house. I wonder if I could hear the flow of the creek because the water was up from recent downfalls or because I was quiet enough within to listen. My point about death and rebirth within ourselves is many years ago my mind was filled with chatter. This morning meditation filled my heart with love and set my day with graceful intention, a balance I welcome.

Tell me your story of a newfound appreciation.

34 thoughts on “On Death and Rebirth

  1. You ask what we might have a new found appreciation for. The first thing that springs to mind for me is my health. I’ve always taken it for granted, but now much less so. I appreciate a pain-free, medication-free existence much more than ever before. Knock wood it lasts!

  2. What a lovely share! My newfound appreciation is returning home from visiting my family in Scotland. I love them dearly, yet they live such shallow lives I find myself becoming edgy and losing touch with my true self. I was able to have some moments to connect inwards, but they were fleeting. I am sad that they can’t find peace.
    I feel reborn coming home 🙂

    • Oh wow, yes, I have some relatives like that…no matter how much you love certain people, it’s good to be back in your own positively charged environment. Glad you made it home safely and are feeling like yourself.

  3. This is lovely, Suzi! I imagine your “aha moment” was a combination of both heavy rains and inner quiet. Funny how we seem more attuned to nature and her beauty when we’re at peace within!!

    • What a beautiful use of necessary time! I enjoy complete silence while I drive…I don’t like the distraction of music. However, if I am a passenger I love a good tune!

    • I go back and forth between NPR and music and silence. “Silence” is a new addition to my driving time. I like it more and more. Sometimes now I stay in silent mode all the way.

  4. Suzi, first, I love the photograph you shared within this post because it’s perfect for this topic!

    “We die and rebirth aspects of ourselves time again as we discover our true selves. We let go of conditioned beliefs as we begin to think for ourselves. Our experiences bring wisdom to our souls. There is a peace about us when we learn to accept what we once didn’t.”

    Yes! And for me, that’s what death and rebirth means. A process of letting go, time and time again, of patterns, thoughts and beliefs as we grow; being reborn, by “seeing” ourselves and life differently.

    I would say that my newfound appreciation is to stay in the “moment.”

    Thanks for sharing, my friend!
    X

  5. Suzi, I love that quote you have shared to align with these reflections… ‘night in your heart’… ‘dawn breaking’! wonderful words, perfect description…I could hear that lullaby! Thanks for sharing.

  6. I love the sounds that emanate in this post. A rhythm and lulling cadence that your readers can also hear. Cultivating the quiet you describes seems to bleed into the moment that you enjoyed at the creek. Isn’t perspective a powerful tool?

  7. Dear Suzie, I loved this post.. You captivated me within your quite thoughts as I was witnessing the little animals foraging and could hear the train and visualise the creek you once sat by to write your poetry.. Spring is all about rebirth as winters death no longer holds it grip..

    You certainly rejuvenated my own thinking as I read this lovely piece of writing Suzie.. Enjoy your weekend.. May you find many more delights within your silent moments..

    Hugs Sue x

  8. This made me smile. How wonderful to perceive something differently than before. Our state of mind does affect how (or if) we take in what is around us and pay it any attention.

  9. I have spent the last three months trying to figure out what is at the other side of the rocky bit in my life, but just recently, on Sunday, i realised i do not need to know right now. Right now i need to feel the sun on my face and that is enough.

  10. The first thing your gurgling creek brought to mind was the smell of the ocean that wafts all the way up to my house (8 or 9 blocks up from the beach) when the tide is low and the breeze is right. I love it.

  11. The entire first paragraph of this post really spoke to me today. Maybe it’s just because of the recent events with Entrepreneur, but I find myself lost in thought about the past and possible future a lot lately. I know I’ve gone through many “rebirths” during my life…hopefully each one being better than the previous version! Beautiful thoughts.

Leave a Reply

