The Search For Happiness

“Happiness is like a cat. If you try to coax it or call it, it will avoid you. It will never come. But if you pay no attention to it and go about your business, you’ll find it rubbing against your legs and jumping into your lap.” — William Bennett

IMG_6201

 

Happiness isn’t sitting in a gift wrapped box waiting to be opened. It isn’t a link on a chain of events that one gets to after marking other things off the list. It isn’t the destination of a storybook life or the reward of a successful career.

Happiness can’t be caught as it flies by on the tail of the wind. It is a way of life. Choosing to be happy is a decision you, me, or anyone, can make. Happiness stems from the positive attitude in any given situation.

The happiest people have times of sadness and anger.  It’s how they handle those times that determine their happiness. By not focusing on the negative aspects of life, becoming resentful, or refusing forgiveness, one opens the door to happiness and allows peace to dwell.

The search for happiness is an inner journey. It is the result of knowing and liking yourself and sharing your love with others. Happiness is the agreement between your heart and your way of life.

What do you feel is the secret to happiness?

38 thoughts on “The Search For Happiness

    • And that one choice makes all the difference, doesn’t it? When I set my day with intention I don’t approach people or task haphazardly. And I seem to be grateful and amazed at small miracles all day.

  1. Suzi, I feel the secret happiness is EXACTLY what you shared…

    “Choosing to be happy is a decision you, me, or anyone, can make. Happiness stems from the positive attitude in any given situation. The search for happiness is an inner journey. It is the result of knowing and liking yourself and sharing your love with others. Happiness is the agreement between your heart and your way of life.”

    And I don’t think that happiness can be sought, because it’s a state of heart.

    FAB post, my friend! Lovely photograph too!
    X

  2. Hi Suzi,

    I agree with you…Happiness and hope…. both lie within us. All we require is to look within, analyze and decipher. Often we fail to celebrate little moments of happiness as our hopes soar too high. In the pursuit of perfection, we keep on chasing that hope and miss the little milestones of happiness.
    Happiness may be subjective but hope is the key.There is an uncanny connection between the two. Love that quote!

  3. Yes! When we let go of unhappy thoughts, happiness jumps into our laps!

    There is no duty we so much underrate as the duty of being happy. By being happy we sow anonymous benefits upon the world.~ Robert Louis Stevenson

    • Yes! When we let go of unhappy thoughts, happiness jumps into our laps! -yes, that’s it exactly! Nancy, there is a lot to be said about the good of positive thoughts.
      Love that quote!

  4. William Bennett’s quote really touches my heart. Maybe it’s because I like cats. And the Robert Louis Stevenson quote Nancy shared is so true. Happy people are a gift to everyone who knows them. Happiness is related to gratitude. Realizing our blessings can’t help but make us happy.

  5. I’ve learned that resentments are poison for me, Suzicate, it’s not always easy to comb them out and release them, but I’m getting better at it. Slowly does it. Lovely photo!

  6. The comparison with a cat is really apt. How often people frantically seek happiness from wealth and prestige, and ignore what is offered by family, friends, and doing what is good to the best of ability.

    • Yes, we often chase things only realizing it doesn’t make us happy when we get it. “Things” don’t make me happy. The contentment I feel in my life with the people I love and doing what brings peace and delight to me are what I seek.

  7. To me, Happiness is contentment. As children, we’re always looking to the future for our happiness — when I get my driver’s license, when I graduate, when I get married, etc. — but as adults, we must learn that true happiness comes when we’re at peace with ourselves and others, when we sleep well at night for not having caused harm to others, when we can look ourselves in the mirror and know we’re trying to be as kind and decent a human as we can. You said it beautifully, Suzi!

  8. Reblogged this on Tania M Adams and commented:
    Quite unintentionally I stumbled on the simple but beautifully word post to be most apt following the events of the past week. Thank you SuziCate for the reminder to focus on MY secret to happiness.

  9. Beautiful thoughts, and here’s to Happy Choices and thoughts.. 🙂

    Learning to live from our Hearts Centre… Happiness is not external.. Happiness is a state of BEing..
    Bless you
    Sue x

  10. “Happiness is the agreement between your heart and your way of life.” I believed you hit the nail right on the head with that line. I do feel that happiness is a choice we make.

  11. I like the point about happy people having periods of anger and sadness… it’s true – we can control how we process our difficulties and ultimately, whether we are happy or not. Sometimes the hardest thing is to forgive a wrong, but the irony is that our unforgiveness does nothing to repair the wrong or ‘get back’ at the other person… it just destroys us.

Leave a Reply

