Beneath Voice

Life is always flowing on like a river, sometimes with murmurs, sometimes without bending this way or that, we do not exactly see why; now in beautiful picturesque places, now through barren and uninteresting scenes, but always flowing with a look of treachery about it; it is so swift, so voiceless, yet so continuous. — (Faber)

Life is always flowing on like a river, sometimes with murmurs, sometimes without bending this way or that, we do not exactly see why; now in beautiful picturesque places, now through barren and uninteresting scenes, but always flowing with a look of treachery about it; it is so swift, so voiceless, yet so continuous. — (Faber)

Cold seeped into my soul this past week as Mother Nature blew in like a gypsy dancing and shaking her tambourines. Her fingernails tapped against the window panes and her voice shrilled though the air. She ranted and raved while this old house simply moaned arthritically to the tantrum outside. While I was not excited with yet two more snow falls, I bundled up and enjoyed the wonderland left by the icy nomad. Knowing what I needed to do, I decided I would enjoy the task. Yes, even shoveling snow can be pleasant when approached with the right frame of mind.

What good does it do to complain? Venting eases the tension within, but it doesn’t change the weather or the remaining circumstances, snowy and icy sidewalks. Regardless of whether we are vocal, we do what needs to be done because that is the way we are wired.

When approached with the mundane tasks of daily living we simply put one foot in front of the other. We’re not always thrilled with where we are, what we’re doing, or even where we’re going. We wear our masks or smiles and keep on moving. We trudge along not really understanding why we feel this way, but somehow we know we will get where we are supposed to be…so then the question is if we are uncomfortable where we are does that mean we are in the wrong place? I tend to be a believer that we are exactly where we are supposed to be at all times. Is it really important to understand the significance of our placement all the time?

Are we silent or do we speak up? When we are vocal, others offer us assurance and direction. I’ve found when I remain silent and allow the stirrings within nudge me the steps I take are natural to my soul. What is it beneath the still voice that drives us forward? It is heart or spirit? We often quickly adapt to change and don’t realize we are evolving. We are drops in the stream, a pulse of constant flow…over sticks, under rocks, a merging current rounding the bend. We are the beating hearts of the river, a song of spirit finding her way home.

31 thoughts on “Beneath Voice

  1. Suzi, I love the way you wrote this….

    ” as Mother Nature blew in like a gypsy dancing and shaking her tambourines. Her fingernails tapped against the window panes and her voice shrilled though the air. She ranted and raved while this old house simply moaned arthritically to the tantrum outside.”

    Wonderful visuals!

    Like you, I tend to believe that we are exactly where we are supposed to be at all times. And also like you, I tend to get quiet and go within as I move through it. And it’s there that I eventually discover my placement.

    Great post, my friend! And please tell Dirtman I said, STUNNING photograph!
    X

  2. Suzi, do you know you are a poet too? The description of Mother Nature’s furious dance is sheer poetry! And yes, her love, her touch and her gestures teach us that she is more than just a mother! She makes us perceptive, patient and perseverant. No wonder she expects us to smile at all that we consider mundane. The lessons we learn in her lap are more profound than modern research results.
    Thanks for sharing wonderful thoughts.

    • Thank you. Poetry is my first love. I have a poetry blog; link is at upper left corner. I mostly post haiku these days unless something else stirs me.
      I agree the lessons of Mother Nature is more profound than those of modern research.

  3. Beautiful!

    I actually like shoveling snow. I don’t need to do it often, and when I do, there’s no rush. So I guess that’s why I enjoy the novelty of it.

    You say, “the question is if we are uncomfortable where we are does that mean we are in the wrong place?” It’s a profound question. You believe we’re always exactly where we ought to be. I admire that attitude. I go back and forth, sometimes accepting, sometimes questioning. At certain times in my life I think I would have been better off accepting things the way they were. In other cases, I might have been more creative in finding another course. Either way, as you say, we need to take steps that are natural to our souls.

    • I agree that often discomfort leads us to action. When I say I am exactly where I am supposed to be at any given time I don’t mean it’s a place I should stay forever but a stop on the journey. Some things take longer to accomplish simply because even though we think we are ready for the next phase in reality we have more to learn before arriving there. I think deep down we know where we need to be and where we’ll be heading, but we don’t always entertain those thoughts because they frighten us.

  4. Thankfully, the last snowfall melted quickly from the sidewalk and cars, so we didn’t bother to shovel it. Which really says quite a bit about how we feel about the weather.

      • Had it fallen over a longer period of time, it would probably be different. But the entire season’s worth of snow in less than two weeks was just a wee bit much. Edie is still in denial about the current forecast.

  5. I don’t think it is so very important to understand the significance of our placement all the time. I trust I am where I’m supposed to be. That photograph, Suzi, is just a real show stopper. Beautiful.

  6. The personification in your first paragraph, Suzi, is stunning! I was right there with you, huddling against the noise and the cold!

    Sorry you, too, are having to shovel snow. I imagine somebody needs to, though, if we’re to venture outside (and if our dogs are to do so as well!)

    I imagine a little discomfort falls into each life. Doesn’t mean we’re not where we’re supposed to be, though.

    • Thanks.
      It actually felt good to get out in the cold air and exert some muscles…and then it felt equally good to come inside and cuddle up with a warm beverage.

  7. Where we are may be the stepping stone we need to get from HERE to THERE.

    Loved this:

    Mother Nature blew in like a gypsy dancing and shaking her tambourines. Her fingernails tapped against the window panes and her voice shrilled though the air. She ranted and raved while this old house simply moaned arthritically to the tantrum outside.

  8. I loved the description of Mother Nature – you are truly a poet Suzi. I dont like the cold and know that I would be complaining if I had to shovel the snow in the driveway yet again (incidentally I did shove snow when I lived in Montreal). But I agree that the least pleasurable can be made at least acceptable with the right frame of mind.

  9. Your poetic description of Mother Nature was beautiful. I, too, have been subject to her whims. On what was supposed to be a short jaunt to see my dad for a few days in warmer climes, the weather could not have been less cooperative (cold, damp, windy) .my flight home was canceled at the last minute, but at least I got delayed where I was supposed to be. I loved your statement “I tend to be a believer that we are exactly where we are supposed to be at all times. ” Thanks to Mother Nature, I received the gift of one sunny, warm day and extra time to share with my dad. Hopefully, She lets me return home tomorrow.

  10. Yes. Every day tasks can be a meditation or a chore. If we’re stressed and dreading them, it’s our choice. What a poetic piece. Loved it and the wisdom shared.

  11. Your first paragraph is pure magic. I actually had to wrap up in a blanket as I was reading it! I also believe we are exactly where we’re suppose to be any given point in time…..just sometimes find myself wishing I was someplace else.

Leave a Reply

