Filling The Gaps

“Because there is that sort of feeling that people don’t know what to do with gaps in their lives. It’s a scary notion, but actually, if you can stand in space just for a little while, a new door will open, or you’ll be able to see in the dark after a while. You’ll adjust.” ~Jane Cam

IMG_0259

Have you ever been the grout between the tiles, the one thing holding others together?

Do you have a companion who is the voice of reason when you need it most?

Ever had a friend who makes you want to be a better person, one who exemplifies goodness and all that is right with the world?

Sometimes I feel as if there is a space within myself like I am lost in this world or even in my own thoughts. It is different than housing a void. While I can’t pinpoint a problem I simply know I’m off my game, kind of like the lethargy and fuzziness I feel right before I’m consumed with illness. Then someone performs a kind gesture or offers words of inspiration or affirmation, and voila I’m back to reality. Perhaps it’s a matter of perspective.

Other times there is a space between you and me. While I’m lost in my world maybe you’re busy with your life.  Chances are our worlds no longer intersect. Or is it because we’ve grown apart and no longer care enough to fill the gaps?

The problem is I am accustomed to and comfortable with my own gaps…at least, most of the time. I am a truth-seeker and often take myself way too seriously. I appreciate the people who save me from myself and lighten my load with laughter.

I tend to forget how easy it is to fill the gaps by simply being humble. One must be as able to receive as graciously as they give. The most important offerings are free…love and compassion.

30 thoughts on “Filling The Gaps

  1. Beautiful post.. and yes I can relate to being comfortable within my own gaps and being the glue which helps fill others spaces…
    Laughter is our saviour especially when we can laugh at ourselves…

    Bless you
    Sue

  2. I’m guilty of over thinking just about everything so it’s a very good thing I have my husband who keeps me from taking life too seriously. You know, Suzi, some of us are just hard-wired this way and need the occasional good belly laugh to keep things on balance.

  3. “I tend to forget how easy it is to fill the gaps by simply being humble. One must be as able to receive as graciously as they give.”

    You are spot on about that Suzi! And I have found that through being humbled and learning how to receive “graciously” has taught me a lot. Learning how to receive is as equally important as giving. And yes, laughter is such a powerful medicine 🙂

    LOVE the quote you shared!

    Grrrrreat post, my friend!
    X

  4. I’ve had to be “the grout between the tiles,” and I’ve gotta tell ya — it’s HARD work! Keeping peace in my world sometimes is a juggling act. It’s tough enough to rein myself in when part of me wants to over-worry; but reining everyone else in is monumental! Thank heaven for laughter!

  5. Love this reflection Suz! Makes me ponder the difference between gap, spaciness and spaciousness.
    I know that gaps to me are something to bridge in order for the space to be reduced.
    Spaciness has negative connotations.
    Spaciousness is what I yearn for and find within myself. It is a place of expansion 🙂

  6. I’ve often believed you live in my house. You hit the nail on the head on how I’ve been feeling lately. Lost in the world and my own thought…..but can’t seem to put them on paper (keyboard). It seems that I am simply existing right now…waiting for the gap I’m in right now to close. You gave me a lot to think about today. Thanks you, my friend. xo

  7. Gaps are a wondrous reminder that we can do much more, that we can utilise them in a productive manner, that time is always enough to fulfil all those little moments with immense joy and laughter and feel blessed that those gaps actually link us with our real self. What an imaginative topic! Thanks Suzi.

Leave a Reply

