Subtle

 

“It is not so much for its beauty that the forest makes a claim upon men’s hearts, as for that subtle something, that quality of air that emanation from old trees, that so wonderfully changes and renews a weary spirit.” ~Robert Louis Stevenson
IMG_7142

Not all changes are drastic. Small changes can build into habits or even a way of life. You don’t even notice until you think back on your past.

Just as each season morphs into each new one, our lives alter with each new acquaintance and experience.

Within the realms of solitude and silence the soul soars.

The scope broadens.

The path lengthens.

Perhaps we find ourselves further away than we originally meant to wander. There’s an ephemeral quality of the quiet beauty in this discovery.

Do you wish to stay here? Do you want to go back?

I choose to continue walking.

The days may pass in subtle degrees, but every breath is a beautiful possibility.

35 thoughts on “Subtle

  1. New people and experiences *do* affect us, Suzi, whether positively or negatively. If the former, we grow; if the latter, we wither a little, until we can extricate ourselves from their influence. Beautifully said, my friend!

  2. Today I began research on a new project that sprung out of one I’ve been working on. In no way did I think I would end up there and it’s certainly not where I thought that was going, and yet, here I am and it makes perfect sense.

  3. Lovely thoughts Suzi! Each changing season brings new beauty, each passing day adds new dimension to our personality, which is a subtle reminder that change is awesome and needs assimilation.

  4. “Just as each season morphs into each new one, our lives alter with each new acquaintance and experience.”

    So true, Suzi…SO true! And each of those experiences, whether positive or negative, always TEACH us something. I’ve learned that life is about always forward.

    Faaaaaaabulous post, my friend. And I LOVE the photograph!

  5. I love how this post is subtle yet powerful in its punch. That our lives subtly change with every new acquaintance and experience is so true, yet so subtle, I hadn’t really thought of it that way before. See? A subtle change for me this morning.

Leave a Reply

