Now You Sedum, Now You Don’t

“The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and all science. He to whom this emotion is a stranger, who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead: his eyes are closed.”  ― Albert Einstein

Macro shot of dried flowers of a sedum plant

Macro shot of dried flowers of a sedum plant

We had planned to go out of town for the weekend. On Thursday night, Wylie started limping. We took her to the vet to find she had a nailbed infection in one of her dew claws. We figured the trip would be too much on her so we opted to stay home.

DirtMan had recently bought me some extension tubes for macro photography, and we were itching to experiment. Since we couldn’t go out, I decided to bring the outside in to us. I roamed the yard and found a few specimens and then grabbed a few things around the house.

Macro photography shows us details the naked eye doesn’t see. It’s sort of a glimpse into a new world, or at least a different perspective of our everyday world.

This is my favorite macro shot of the day. Can you guess what it is? A section of a pinecone!

This is my favorite macro shot of the day. Can you guess what it is? A section of a pinecone!

The dead head of a coneflower (Echinacea)

The dead head of a coneflower (Echinacea)

For perspective, here is a close up (but not macro) of a geranium.

For perspective, here is a close up (but not macro) of a geranium.

Macro of geranium bloom, stamen, and pistil

Macro of geranium bloom, stamen, and pistil

Macro of geranium leaf

Macro of geranium leaf

See, I did “focus” on something this weekend!

We took lots of other photos, but I’ll save those for another day.

In case you’re wondering, Wylie is recovering nicely. She’s much happier now that we’ve removed the cone (to prevent her from chewing on her foot) from around her neck.

35 thoughts on “Now You Sedum, Now You Don’t

    • It was fun and a lot to take in with arranging light not to mention different setting depending on the subject and the lens…I hope to “get it” some day. Yes, Wylie is coming along.

  1. Poor Wylie — glad she’s doing okay. Aren’t we something, Suzi — staying home when our fur-kids are under the weather?!
    What beautiful focusing you did here! And yes, catching a closeup offers an entirely new way of viewing things.

  2. Great shots from a different perspective! I often tell myself I should practice and study and learn about photography, but laziness and ease win out so I shall remain a picture taker.

    • My camera takes lovely shots in auto, and I could probably be pretty much satisfied with that…but then I see all of DirtMan’s glorious photos, and I want to be able to stretch myself. Besides he does enjoy teaching me what he knows. I’m just not as good of a student as he is a teacher.

  3. “See, I did “focus” on something this weekend!”

    You GO, Suzi! And these photographs are FANTABULOUS! The one of the pine cone is amazing. And the one of the geranium bloom, stamen, and pistil is STUNNING. WOW! Excellently done! You have got such a natural talent with the camera!

    Glad to hear Wylie is recovering nicely 🙂

    Have a great week, my friend. And I look forward to seeing more of your photographs!
    X

  4. Oh, I sooooo covet a macro lens! These are fantastic shots! I hope Wylie’s paw heals quickly and glad the “cone of shame” is off! It’s awful to see a pet in pain.

  5. These are exquisite, Susan. It is interesting that the macro shots add a new dimension to the objects that you selected. Thanks for sharing. Glad to hear Wylie is on the mend.

  6. Lovely photography Suzie… And you brought the outdoors inside for me 🙂 thank you.. I hope Wylie’s paw is feeling better.. And at last I can get around to viewing your blog as I catch up with new subscribers.. 🙂 Many thanks for following Dreamwalker’s..
    You have a lovely blog,
    Blessings Sue

Leave a Reply

