The Road Leads To…

“May you have the hindsight to know where you’ve been, The foresight to know where you are going, And the insight to know when you have gone too far” –  Irish Blessing

“May you have the hindsight to know where you’ve been, The foresight to know where you are going, And the insight to know when you have gone too far” – Irish Blessing

I consider myself to be a person of keen insight. I have a compassionate nature, and I am a people watcher. I often hear more than is said. However, there are times I totally miss the mark. It is often when sarcasm is used and I don’t get the gist of the remark until much later.

There are times I trust in people rather than watching the patterns unfold before me. The point is I sometimes look back and wonder why I didn’t catch something as it was happening. I wonder if my seriousness and sensitivity override my humor or if my interpersonal skills are not as acute as I’d credited myself.

There are times I see the road before I or someone else walks it and rightfully predict the destination. Other times it is only after getting there I even have an inkling of how it happened. Hmmm…perhaps that’s the difference between insight and hindsight.

I suppose sometimes intuition or experience leads the way and other times it’s ego!

“A moment’s insight is sometimes worth a life’s experience.” – Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr.

35 thoughts on “The Road Leads To…

  1. Your Irish Blessing reminded me of the Senility Prayer:

    God grant me the senility to forget the people I never liked,
    the good fortune to run into the ones I do,
    and the eyesight to tell the difference. Amen.

  2. Love these reflections, Suzi. We develop our intuitive abilities slowly if we have both the hindsight and the foresight. It is interesting to note that each year we advance a little with these capabilities!

  3. Oliver Wendell Holmes was exactly right. I’ve learned over the years that people generally tell you who they are and it is at our own peril that we ignore them. I’ve often, in the past, given somebody the benefit of doubt when all of my internal warning bells have been going off. I say this based on you questioning your interpersonal skills….we’ve all been there, Suzi.

  4. When I am not present I seem to lose the ability to access my intuition … too wrapped up in the thinking mind. When my heart is open it always seems to be easily accessible 🙂
    Note to self … notice ❤

  5. “There are times I see the road before I or someone else walks it and rightfully predict the destination. Other times it is only after getting there I even have an inkling of how it happened. Hmmm…perhaps that’s the difference between insight and hindsight.”

    Me too, Suzie!

    Usually for me, my initial feelings about a person or situation is accurate. However, there have been times when I’ve ignored those feelings and ended up learning from them. All in all, whether I follow my intuition or not, there is always something for me to learn from it.

    LOVE the Irish blessing, as well as your photograph!
    X

  6. So much to think about in this post, Susan. When people reveal who they, we should trust what they are telling us. I tend to give second chances – sometimes to my detriment.

  7. Maya Angelou said once…I’m paraphrasing…”If someone tells you they are not a good person, believe them.” Whoa…I couldn’t believe what I was hearing..but she did say that, and I have often reflected “believe them.” God bless, Maya.

  8. Trusting doesn’t come easily for me, Suzi, perhaps as a result of being burned a few times. Still, if we don’t allow ourselves to be open and embrace the possibility of hurt, we might never experience the delights life has to offer. Oh, and you put that Irish blessing under your picture just for me, didn’t you 😉

    • I used to have a big trust issue as well. I’ve learned to let go, but I do size people up before trusting…sometimes like I said I misjudge. I suppose it’s meant to be a lesson.

  9. I think sometimes we need to see and so we do and other times we are protected from what is coming until it is passed and we can look back on it and understand the how we got to where we have.

Leave a Reply

