Navigating The Fog

IMG_0054

 

It was cold and drizzling. The fog was low and thick crawling through the valleys, over the mountains, and across the river. It was a petulant bully, teasing us with glimpses of the mountains only to return to block our view. We had miles to travel, but decided to take a few minutes to step out into the mist and use this as a photo opportunity.

 

IMG_0050_1

 

As often in life, our vision was not clear. Navigating through the fog is part of the journey.

IMG_0058

 

It is when we reach the other side of the bridge our vision restores.

IMG_0055_1

 

For every step across the bridge, we settle into life. And in every breath, life settles into us just as the fog settles until it immerses. For we are just a breath in this life, so make it deep and all-encompassing.

38 thoughts on “Navigating The Fog

  1. Literally, not figuratively, I leave the farm in the morning in the fog. I love that time of morning when the conditions give me permission to drive very slowly to avoid hitting a creature running across the road. Of course, I always drive as carefully as I can, but I don’t mind starting off very slowly in the early morning. Thank you for this reflection as I have thought about the fog quite often lately.

    • You really have to move slow in the fog. There is always fog at my childhood home as the fog settles from the nearby quarry into the bottom lands. I don’t like driving in fog, but I don’t mind being a passenger with a better equipped (eyes and skill) driver than myself.

  2. I love all kinds of rare weather, flurries, snow, rain if it hasn’t gone on too long. etc. I enjoyed looking at your photos and thinking of the message below each shot. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  3. Suzi, these photographs are STUNNING!!!! BRAVA!!! They took my breath away! You captured that fog so beautifully. And you know me, I adore foggy, misty days; therefore I really enjoyed these.

    That last shot of the view across the bridge is FAB-U- LOUS!

    “For every step across the bridge, we settle into life. And in every breath, life settles into us just as the fog settles until it immerses. For we are just a breath in this life, so make it deep and all-encompassing.

    Loved that!

    Have a super week, my friend!
    X

  4. Hi Suzi,

    Lovely pictures, superb photography! Foggy mornings are so romantic especially when you are in the midst of valleys and mountains…the sensation of merging into the surroundings, encompassed by fog…these pictures have that quality! Thanks for sharing.

  5. Loved this post Suzi – I feel I am still in a fog after Tony dying, and I know in time, the fog will lift. Thanks for your continued virtual hugs! I feel every one. 😀

  6. I think one of the greatest blessings in my life has been the ability to breathe deeply and take in as much life as I can. Appreciating each breath is a way of being rich. This is a lovely post and the photos to match. Love it!

Leave a Reply

