Chasing The Fires

“Above all, be true to yourself, and if you cannot put your heart in it, take yourself out of it.” ~Hardy D. Jackson

IMG_0003

I had a really nice point and shoot camera. The more I enjoyed photography the more determined I became to learn the ins and outs of my camera. I’ve been taking photos in my manual setting for quite some time on my simple camera. Now, I’ve stepped up to a better camera, and it’s a whole new ballgame. I am intimidated by the settings, but I refuse to settle for the auto button. Above is my first shot. The focus is not perfect, however I like the softness.

I love learning, even when I feel I’m in over my head. I’m sure it will take me a while to “get it”…but oh the fun (and stress) in store for DirtMan and me as he teaches me!

IMG_0006

Wylie was a great sport.

IMG_0007

Kitty was not impressed!

IMG_0012

Even the birds cooperated by leaving a few berries on the Pyracantha for me to shoot.

IMG_0032I have many interests. It is the passion for each that directs my pursuit. What about you?

“Passion, it lies in all of us, sleeping… waiting… and though unwanted… unbidden… it will stir… open its jaws and howl. It speaks to us… guides us… passion rules us all, and we obey. What other choice do we have?” – Joss Whedon,

“Our passions are the winds that propel our vessel. Our reason is the pilot that steers her. Without winds the vessel would not move and without a pilot she would be lost.” ~Proverb

“Without passion man is a mere latent force and possibility, like the flint which awaits the shock of the iron before it can give forth its spark.” ~Amiel

 

26 thoughts on “Chasing The Fires

  1. Good luck on exploring, and learning, the ins and outs of your new camera. Your first shots look like you’re figuring it out. I go through thinking I need to be more proficient at the manual settings on my camera, then end up falling back on the auto setting and relying on post-processing to make it better.

  2. i have many passions, all of which frustrate me much of the time. i am beginning to think frustration is the mother of getting everything done. 😉 I love your puppy photo and the lily but they are all really beautiful. I need to learn how to use my newest point and click camera, a little canon. i loved my olympus. this one, not so much!!

    • My last and new ones are Canons. There doesn’t seem to be enough hours to do all the things that interest us! I say it’s better to have lots of passions than none at all!

      • Yes, so true. You must appreciate the Canon more than I at this point. I haven’t yet figured out how to increase even the resolution and my manual is 2 inches thick. And no table of contents or index!! A problem…

        Have fun with your newest passion. A lovely post to remind us of what matters.

      • The Canon website and youtube has some great tutorials about aperature, ISO, etc… I’ve found them quite helpful. I’m taking notes so I can remember, ha!

  3. Have fun with your new camera, Suzi.

    I still use my point and shoot. It works for me . . . and helps me to really SEE what I’ve seeing. That said, some of the photographs on blogs (e.g., close ups of birds, bees, and flowers) are amazing.

    • I loved my point and shoot. I want to get into macro photography and I needed something better to proceed. I’ve seen some amazing photos as well. The hubby and I are going to plan trips/hikes with photography lessons in mind…getting excited!

  4. I’m still using my phone camera, Suzi. I sort of fear getting a camera as I’m pretty sure that would send me over the edge into another passion for which II know I don’t have time. Something’s gotta give, at this point. I lots of passions and lots of interests and not as much time as I would like to indulge them all. One thing I can say for sure is that I am never, ever bored!

    • Phone cameras have come a long way. I’ve taken some of what I consider my best shots with mine.
      I know what you mean; I’m never bored either. (I find it surprising to hear people complain of boredom.)

  5. ” I am intimidated by the settings, but I refuse to settle for the auto button.”

    *applauding*

    You GO, Suzi! I know exactly what you mean because when I first began using my camera on manual mode, I too was intimidated. In fact, I still don’t know exactly what I’m doing but I’m having fun learning.

    FANTABULOUS photographs! The lily is just beautiful! I also love the others as well. Don’t ya just love getting a new camera and playing around with it?

    Enjoy, my friend!
    X

    P.S Great quotes!

    • I’ve enjoyed the manual setting on my point and shoot, but I often had DirtMan set my aperature etc. I want to learn how to do it all on my own. Ha, he’s been wanting me to be able to for a long time!

  6. What fun! You’ve got a great teacher!
    I’m still looking to replace my camera. I’m trying to figure out what I want and of course I want a great deal. I think I’m also loath to spend that much money on myself. Baby steps.

    • I do have a great teacher.
      I was hesitant to spend that much on myself at first, but then I decided to just do it. Funny how we have no problem spending on our kids but seem to put ourselves last…perhaps it’s a mother guilt thing, ha!

  7. GOOD for you, Suzi! Learning something new keeps us young and interesting. Since you’ve already got a creative “eye,” you’ll do fine. Be patient with yourself while learning and enjoy the results — I know we will!!

    • In moments of frustration I want to revert to the auto button, but it’s important to me to learn the manual process. I think photography in auto is just as nice as manual. I’ve learned manual allows you a bit of artistic manipulation that I want to master, ha!

Leave a Reply

