Sparkles Of Life

“I have learned things in the dark that I could never have learned in the light, things that have saved my life over and over again, so that there is really only one logical conclusion. I need darkness as much as I need light.”  ― Barbara Brown Taylor, Learning to Walk in the Dark

route 56

In this broken world of ours, people are hurting, in need. So much seems to be wrong. Yet, when I look long and hard so much seems to be right. I refuse to allow my perspective to overshadow the good I know and feel. I am not ignoring reality…I am choosing to be at peace with my own life and my place in this world regardless of conditions and beliefs surrounding my inner sanctuary.

It’s so easy to get caught up in the drama of everyday life, even that which doesn’t affect me directly. Am I being apathetic or selfish by refusing to be involved? Perhaps I am. I choose to call it self-preservation.

I have faced times of darkness and witnessed the trials of others. I’ve learned hope resides in the midst of obscurity. When the answers are clear it seems the lessons are of less significance. I don’t focus on the darkness for fear I will miss the stars.

I am drawn to people who sparkle. I don’t mean those decked in jewels and glitter. I’m speaking of those whose reflect an energy of love, those who make you feel good inside. I am a better person simply for their presence in my life. I want to be the same type of person to others.

These days I am attempting to act with highest intention. I am resisting rash choices and learning to react with thoughtfulness. I see the light in which I walk. I experience the love within and around me. I am finding peace.  I feel the twinkle of living within my soul.

And always, I reach for the stars no matter how far in the distance they shine.

 

 

26 thoughts on “Sparkles Of Life

  1. Wasn’t it Abraham Lincoln who said, Most people are about as happy as they choose to be? I think you’ve chosen well, Suzi. I, too, prefer to be Little Debbie Sunshine, rather than focus on the darkness.

  2. Unfortunately we can’t turn a blind eye to everything that causes us pain. But, we don’t need to continually dwell on the negative. Light and dark are balanced for a reason. We learn appreciation and gratitude from both experiences. Good and evil are in this world and this side of heaven, that will not change. We can focus on the good, deal with the evil and try and understand how it all works together. You, however, are one of those sparkly people that bring light into other people’s lives….and we all love you for it! ❤

  3. Suzi, I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE that quote because it’s so true! Without darkness, we would not know light.

    “I refuse to allow my perspective to overshadow the good I know and feel. I am not ignoring reality…I am choosing to be at peace with my own life and my place in this world regardless of conditions and beliefs surrounding my inner sanctuary.”

    Amen! And that’s exactly my thoughts as well. It’s all in my perception and what I choose to focus on – the GOOD.

    Faaaaaaabulous photograph! Please tell Dirtman I said, BRAVO!

    Keep on sparkling, my friend!
    X

    • I want to twinkle, sparkle, and shine like you, Nancy! Occasionally I lose my center and have to refocus to balance. I like the feeling of peace no matter the circumstances.

  4. “It’s so easy to get caught up in the drama of everyday life, even that which doesn’t affect me directly” the trick is to help out where you are needed without getting swept up into it, easier said than done..Right?
    Surrounding yourself with happy people, people who sparkle is definitely the way to go, and with this in mind you will indeed find peace.

    Nice picture, I do like it and an Excellent post to boot.

  5. Hi Suzi,
    Whenever we face the murkier times, we wonder why is life so tough but you are right…why focus on darkness when we have a choice to look at the stars! Life is an amalgamation of:
    Some failures – we have to strive for success.
    Some regrets – we have to move on.
    Some disenchantment – we have to relook at our perspective.
    Some deeper hurts – we have to balance our emotions.
    Some fantasies – we have to remain grounded.

  6. I think there are some that are having and enjoying self pity parties and trying to get as many others as possible to join them. I am not talking about the mentally sick but those who think it is their right to paint everything black. As i suffer from mental health problems myself i have come to realise there is a difference between the two.

  7. I would say it’s self-preservation, but I don’t see it as selfish. It’s like when you fly, they tell you to put the oxygen mask on yourself before you put them on your children. By taking care of ourselves first, we can help our children. I see it the same way in life – we can’t really shine a light on anyone else if were dragged down by the drama surrounding us.

Leave a Reply

