Coming Home To Yourself

IMG_7117

I have a simple philosophy: Fill what’s empty. Empty what’s full. Scratch where it itches. ~Alice Roosevelt Longworth

Once upon a time I thought life was about who had a bigger house, sportier car, higher paying job…

Then, I decided life surely had to be about who loved deeper, lived harder, gave more, fell softer, and learned quicker.

Sounds more accurate, but is it really true?

Now, I’ve learned, life isn’t about WHO. It’s not about comparing yourself with others.

Life is about YOU. Measure against your own capabilities and desires.

Are you living and loving enough? Are your senses awakened?

Life is not only about knowing others. It’s about knowing you.

A serious question I ask myself is “Am I living the message I want to send the world?” This helps me define not only who I am but what I want to be. It brings my values and priorities to the surface. Am I living what I believe? If I am, then I know I am on the right path for me.

When I set my intention for the day to giving rather than getting, I am satisfied when my day is done. But better yet, when I set my intention on being rather than doing I find I accomplish both.

What I have been has brought me into who I am now and this will shape me into who I will become. The same holds true for you. I love that we are ever learning and becoming…and that is the true purpose of life.

The depth and breadth of my living comes down to the capabilities of my heart…where is it leading me? It comes down to the fine line between holding on and letting go, the ability to find success in the midst of failure…only to realize there is no failure, only lessons learned.

They say life is what you make of it. I find it to be true. In being, that is my life. Who can assess the accomplishments of one life by the standards of another? My journey is not yours; nor is yours mine.

Where is your focus? Time, energy, talent…is your life more about what you use or what you waste?

I ran across this the other day, and it continues to speak to me. “Just keep coming home to yourself. You are the one you’ve been waiting for.” ~Byron Katie

I don’t believe people are looking for the meaning of life as much as they are looking for the experience of being alive.  ~Joseph Campbell

43 thoughts on “Coming Home To Yourself

  1. Yeah, I think life is what you want it to be. I sometimes get frustrated with the stuff that says things like you have to make a HUGE impact on the world in order to have lived or in order to have been someone. Well, some of us don’t feel we have to leave a “mark” on the world, some of us are ok with loving and being loved. Nothing for the World Books. 🙂

  2. “Now, I’ve learned, life isn’t about WHO. It’s not about comparing yourself with others.

    Life is about YOU. Measure against your own capabilities and desires.

    Life is not only about knowing others. It’s about knowing you.”

    AAAAAAAAAAAMEN, Suzi! Because I think when know more about ourselves, we know and understand more about others ‘through’ knowing ourselves.

    “It comes down to the fine line between holding on and letting go, the ability to find success in the midst of failure…only to realize there is no failure, only lessons learned.” YES!

    And I LOVE this quote….” “Just keep coming home to yourself. You are the one you’ve been waiting for.”

    Fab post, my friend!
    X

  3. I so love this statement, Suzi — “I love that we are ever learning and becoming…and that is the true purpose of life.” Comparing ourselves to others just sets us up for frustration and bitterness. While we might be equal in the eyes of the law, it’s plain for any of us to see we’re far from being “equal.” I know I can’t make a living playing basketball, for instance; and nobody would pay me to pilot a spaceship, ha!!

  4. Beautiful post, Suzi. I concur with your thoughts ~> comparing ourselves with others is an unnecessary exercise fraught with perils. The only way we know we’re on the right path is by looking within . . . not by looking at them.

  5. This is a great post. I find that comparing myself to others often ends up with me feeling like I don’t have enough. But if I take everyone else out of the equation, I can more easily recognize how truly blessed I am. It’s always good to be reminded of this 🙂

  6. Am I living the message I want to send the world? I love that line. And I also agree that “failures” are lessons learned; and without those failures, we’d never grow.

  7. Oh Suzi, I love this. Every word of this. These are thoughts and wisdom I could read over and over. Do you know, when I open a post from you, I sort of settle into my chair a little and take a deep sigh before reading, because I always know it will be soothing and centering? I do. I’m grateful for the moment you add to my days.

  8. I love this concept of “coming home to yourself.” And I also love what you say here, Suzicate:

    Who can assess the accomplishments of one life by the standards of another? My journey is not yours; nor is yours mine.

    Unfortunately, so many of us are still struggling with the survival issues of everyday life that even when we know what “coming home to ourselves” means, we may only have rare moments to experience its beauty. But even in that, we’re fortunate in those moments.

    • I really like the point you brought to surface about survival struggles of everyday life. This solidifies how coming home to oneself is unique for each person. And perhaps it makes it the experience even more meaningful.

  9. These are great quotes! Added to your thoughts, you’ve written a very meaningful post. Why is it so hard for us to absorb these ideas? I do fairly well at it, but then along comes loved ones who have needs that seem to distract me from my own journey. How do we balance giving to others with giving to ourselves?

    (By the way, I enjoyed your last visits and comments. I’ve been inconsistent with blogging (writing and visiting), however, I continue to find it fulfilling.)

    • Life really is a balancing act, isn’t it? I think it takes maturity to find it. I know my earlier years of motherhood were devoted to my children. I remember thinking some women were selfish to take so much time for themselves, but in retrospect perhaps they were smart. We must keep ourselves nurtured to properly nurture others.
      I’m not consistent with blogging (I aim for once a week, though I hit and miss.) or visiting either. If I’m unable to subscribe to sites, I get way behind…I think I couldn’t find a subscribe button on your page. (I only do email subscriptions since I don’t use the reader.)

  10. Just catching up Suzicate and I particularly like this one. It speaks to me. And The Way by Byron Katie has helped in getting me where I am today – “Just keep coming home to yourself. You are the one you’ve been waiting for.” .

Leave a Reply

