When Autumn Calls My Name

“Autumn is the eternal corrective. It is ripeness and color and a time of maturity; but it is also breadth, and depth, and distance. What man can stand with autumn on a hilltop and fail to see the span of his world and the meaning of the rolling hills that reach to the far horizon? ~Hal Borland

IMG_7102

While I love the colors of Autumn, specifically October, I think what endears my heart the most is it teaches me the continuity of life. I see the beauty in maturity and death, and the hope of another cycle.

IMG_7142

When I witness the brazen burst of color upon a subdued landscape I feel as if I’ve come home; I see in nature what I feel inside.

IMG_7106

Jeweled trees dancing in the breeze and the crunch and rustle of leaves beneath my feet awaken the gypsy within me.

IMG_7166

No matter where that road may be it always seems to be calling me home.

IMG_7119

I find myself on that familiar path of home, the one tugging on my heart.

IMG_7171

The mountains whisper my name, their messages traveling in the wind until I answer.

IMG_7138

I settle into the soft hues of the meadows I call my own, and I am content.

30 thoughts on “When Autumn Calls My Name

  1. Your descriptions are so beautiful they dance off the page! October is also my favorite Autumn month. And I think Autumn usually shouts at me! Your photos are a lovely representation of the season. Enjoy this season’s beauty while you can!

  2. I TOTALLY agree with Lisa….”Your descriptions are so beautiful they dance off the page!”

    Magnificent photographs, Suzi! Wow! Wow! Wow! You captured Autumn perfectly, with all its splendor!

    The 6th photograph down is breathtaking.

    Thanks so much for sharing my favorite season in your part of the globe. It’s stunning!

    Have a super day, my friend!
    X

    • You are welcome. The colors weren’t as vibrant this year as last year, but still gorgeous. I don’t think I’d enjoy living where there wasn’t a defined visual difference in the seasons.

  3. Beautiful, just beautiful pictures and delightful writing. This spoke to me “I see in nature what I feel inside.” I think you have the setting of a story. This would be wonderful correlating the plot to what the characters or main character “feels inside.” Have you ever read Anne of Green Gables?

  4. Gorgeous, Suzi! Your delight in calling this spot “Home” jumps right off the screen and no wonder — what a spectacular region. I so enjoy seeing the changing seasons through your camera’s lens!

  5. “the mountains whisper my name” rings so true with me. Although I am currently enjoying the Pacific NW, I miss the mountains of Colorado and Utah where I grew up. I miss them every season of the year, but fall and winter most of all. Interesting, isn’t it, how some places speak our soul’s language.

Leave a Reply

