Pick Your Poison

“Your beliefs become your thoughts,

Your thoughts become your words,

Your words become your actions,

Your actions become your habits,

Your habits become your values,

Your values become your destiny.”

― Mahatma Gandhi

IMG_7149

We each have a thing. You know the thing that prohibits growth, keeps us stuck. It could be anything…fear, materialism, greed, addiction are examples of habitual obstacles.

What does this photo of persimmons have to do with this? Well, you see my childhood memories of persimmons are bitter. Yes, the mouth puckering kind. DirtMan told me to try one. He swore they were sweet. I picked the firmest one I could reach. Oh my, the inside of my mouth drew up like a dried prune. He told me to try a soft one, the mushy ones that looked like they were about to rot on the tree. I was hesitant but complied. It was sweet, juicy, and downright delectable. Some things in life take time to mature. We go through many phases before we come into our “goodness”. It is mostly a matter of awareness and the desire to want growth.

When we focus on our poisons, we gnaw away our insides until it clearly shows on the outside. When we don’t allow the blossoming of our souls we become bitter like that persimmon. Listening to our needs and following what insures growth permits us to sweeten.

DirtMan casually mentioned downsizing now that we are empty nesters. How dare he? This house holds my memories. It is my comfort zone. He claims we need to think about settling into a one story because one day those stairs will be killers on our knees. So, he has a point. I don’t do well with disruptions to my routine. I fear change…yes, the big word here is FEAR. I don’t like my security compromised. Here I am looking at what could be a new and exciting adventure as an end to my life as I know it. See, it’s all in how one looks at things. I could get used to the idea and go with it…might take me a while, but I’m sure I’ll come around.

The inability to let go; yep, that’s my poison. What’s yours?

27 thoughts on “Pick Your Poison

    • That’s good to know! I already have difficulty with my knees, but I keep on chugging…I blame it on my childhood filled with tree climbing, ball playing, and motorcycle riding, but boy was it a good one!

  1. I suspect I have more than one poison, but certainly anything that threatens my feeling of security is one of the biggest. And what I view as a threat sometimes, isn’t necessarily a real threat, which doubles the dose. >

  2. Having downsized, I recommend that you give it serious consideration, Suzi . . . especially since Dirt Man is open to the idea. It frees up time, money, and energy for other pursuits, hobbies, and interests.

    It’s great to “let go” of stuff you no longer need, use, or love to make room for “something better.”

    • We have some ideas, and it will take us a while to get it in motion, but I think it will be what we both want. It’s not as scary as the initial idea was, but still change unsettles me a bit.

  3. I’ve never had a persimmon, Suzi, but my imagination is intrigued by your explanation of the differences between the bitter and the sweet versions. I can appreciate your desire to hang onto your “stuff,” but honestly, in some ways, less is more! While down-sizing can be frightening, it also can be liberating.

  4. Suzi, I loved your analogy to the persimmons…

    “Listening to our needs and following what insures growth permits us to sweeten.”

    How true that is, my friend! It is mostly a matter of awareness and the desire to want growth.

    Like you, I fear change. When I changed jobs this summer I was very scared because it meant that my routine and what I was used to would change. And it did. But I have to say that I’m so glad I pushed myself to do it because it ended up being a change for the GOOD in so many ways.

    X

    • I have faith all will be well and we will end up exactly where we are meant to be. In fact, we went over some options tonight and are on the same page. It won’t be a rash decision, and I think it will end up being what we both want.

  5. Hi Suzicate, yes making changes is a very hard thing at times but by doing so only opens a new chapter in our lives, I agree with Dirtman as we get older a home on one level is much easier to get around in, same with us Cindy and I alone in a four bedroom house, we only used 3 of the rooms in the whole house after the kids grew up.
    Excellent post Suzi, everything is going to be just fine.

    Jimmys Opinion is back up and running I changed the url to http://jimsop.blogspot.com/ if you would like to drop by and follow along again.

  6. Hi Suzi,
    Many poisons of life have to be accepted when we have no choice…when our children are ready to fly away, we give them wings. The lump in the throat, the tears that lurk around the corners, the happiness within…we swallow that poison! My thoughts go back to leaving my own house, (as a young bride) in which I had grown up, which treasured my little moments of joy and mammoth achievements but how sweet seemed my own nest when I had settled down in my new home, to leave it once again and come here, to be near my dear grand child…yes!! there are two tastes to each fruit of life.
    Thanks for sharing a lovely article. You can read my perspective on change by clicking on:
    http://balroop2013.wordpress.com/2013/12/29/change-is-my-wordmy-guiding-star-for-2014-2/

  7. I resist change, too. In my heart, I know that without change, I don’t grow, but still I clink to what I know. Good luck overcoming fear and embracing whatever life has in store for you 🙂

  8. I’ve always liked the quote you lead your post with today. So very true. Entrepreneur mentions the D-word from time to time now as well. But, that won’t happen until The Investigator, Peanut and Twix can afford a place of their own….so I’m safe for the foreseeable future! 🙂

  9. My pleasure and poison could be one in the same. I like and seek knowledge: information, news on the grapevine, stories in books, visual sightings, blah, blah, blah… lol It’s not the genius type knowledge, for I don’t have anywhere near that IQ, but more so, people knowledge… nature, too. I guess that’s why reading blogs is a pleasure. Because my mind is all over the place, getting specific tasks and goals can be a challenge. Is that somewhat of a poison? 🙂
    At my age, I think I’ll just live with it.

    I like your persimmon metaphor; things taking time to mature.

    You’ll know when and if it’s the right time to move.

Leave a Reply

