The Stillness Factor

In the attitude of silence the soul finds the path in an clearer light, and what is elusive and deceptive resolves itself into crystal clearness.  Our life is a long and arduous quest after Truth.  ~Mahatma Gandhi

IMG_5600

Have you ever noticed wisdom enters by the way of silence?

A Knowing of the soul occurs.

Mysteries are explained, problems solved, and creative urges born.

Answers wait in silence. As I learn to listen and decipher, I hear more than I ever did with my ears.

Have you ever experienced an epiphany?

These sudden realizations come to me after times of deep contemplation or sleep. These understandings even make appearances in my dreams.

Insights aren’t always clear cut. They can arrive in bits and pieces, like puzzles I must ponder to see how I fit into the equation.

If I enter a quiet time so focused on finding an answer my mind fills with chatter. When I empty my mind, I rise refreshed and observant. A simple switch in perspective is often what I need.

Refraining from speaking has been a lifelong challenge for me. I’m finding more and more how good silence is for my soul.

The first step in the acquisition of wisdom is silence, the second listening, the third memory, the fourth practice, the fifth teaching others. ~Solomon Ibn Gabriol

28 thoughts on “The Stillness Factor

  1. Oh this brings up a lot. There is the train of thought that this is somewhat like meditation — quieting the mind. Then there is the similarity of this to something we practice in Nia. We don’t consider silence in a song “non-dance” time. There is discoveries to be made in silence!

    As you say, ” . . . wisdom enters by the way of silence . . . .creative urges born . . . .Answers wait in silence.”

    BEAUTIFUL photo. Just stunning!

  2. “Have you ever noticed wisdom enters by the way of silence?”

    Yes, I have, Suzi. I took a four-day retreat about six years ago, in which I was totally alone in a cabin in the woods. I had no TV, no computer, no music, no distractions. And it blew me away by how the silence felt uncomfortable to me at first. But after the first day I began to embrace the silence and heard more inspiration than I ever had. It was IN the silence that I HEARD.

    Gorgeous photograph, my friend! WOW!
    X

  3. For 10 years i sat with the thoughts of what another person had done to me and my family and even though church leaders had told that person to apologise, which they did, i felt it was just a word and not an action and yet i had been asked to forgive them. Then one Sunday as i was teaching i suddenly knew without any doubt that i could forgive that person, that it was done, finished, over and i could move on. I wanted to share my experience with everyone in the class and yet i knew i wasn’t supposed to, that it was just for me, an epiphany a moment of silence in the noise.

  4. I like silence. I’m not good about keeping internal silence, though… too many thoughts/ideas/remembering things I have to do creeping in. I would like to think I’ll get better at managing this as time goes by 🙂

  5. I may have the song Sounds of Silence running through my head the rest of the day. I suppose there’s a reason for the saying, Silence is Golden. And have you ever noticed, the more foolish the person, the more noise they make? Beautiful words today. Thank you.

  6. Interesting that I should come here today and find this post after having a day of “not enough silence.” Your thoughts have verified mine.
    While I loved all the socializing I’ve done today, I really need to not talk. Right now, I’m stealing some time while my kids are busy with whatever. Gotta give it up though – it’ll be time to eat soon. *sigh* 🙂

  7. Thanks for introducing this Gandhi quote to me (I was not familiar with it). I like your perspective about insights. It does unfold in fragments, especially when you least expect it.

  8. “The first step in the acquisition of wisdom is silence, the second listening, the third memory, the fourth practice, the fifth teaching others.” ~Solomon Ibn Gabriol
    I’ve never heard that quote before, but I love it — it really resonates with me right now. The teachers used to tell us, Silence is golden, and perhaps they were onto something. With all the chatter going on in our world today, it can be challenging to find time to pursue silence. And don’t get me started on the praise of listening, ha!

    • They do. I know people who can’t stand being alone and they fill their space with back noise…is it because they fear to hear themselves speak? I hate to admit I used to be one of those people.

Leave a Reply

