When We Call Ourselves To Attention

“Whatever the present moment contains, accept it as if you had chosen it.” - Eckhart Tolle

“Whatever the present moment contains, accept it as if you had chosen it.” – Eckhart Tolle

 

I feel disconcerted, not anxious about any particular situation just not quite centered. Unable to focus on reading and unable to pull forth words from my heart to write, I take it as a cue to sit and pay attention to breath. In a matter of moments I settle into myself. It’s interesting when one is enveloped in peace the rest of their world follows in a cloud of calm.

I spend the evening outside. The cool air welcomes me like a new adventure, fresh, exciting, and filled with promise. I spot a praying mantis slowly making his way across the back of the house and fly off. Cricket song keeps me company while darkness creeps in and wraps itself around the tall pines. Luna dances across the sky, only showing about half of herself which is enough to light a path through the velvet shawl of night.

After regaining my tranquility, I wonder how I allow it to slip from me. Without asking, I know the answer. It is always when I get too busy to pay attention. When I’m not in a state of awareness I find myself on the river bank of life’s flow. One would think it would be enough to keep me mindful. The moments of now are what keep me centered. As I watch Luna pull back the stars as she passes through the trees, I am at peace.

Do you ever feel out of whack? How do you find your center when you lose it? What gives you a sense of peace? When you find your calm disappearing, do you find it to be from outside influences or from not taking care of yourself?

dusk through the trees

26 thoughts on “When We Call Ourselves To Attention

  1. “Do you ever feel out of whack?”

    Yes, I sure do, Suzi. And for me, I know it’s because I’ve lost my center by getting distracted from all the chatter in my head and focusing on the ‘exterior.’

    Spending time outside within nature, always seems to bring me back to my center. That, and becoming more aware of my breathing.

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the quote by Eckhart Tolle!

    Thanks for sharing, my friend!
    X

  2. Yes, sometimes I am out of whack, which means to me what you said it did to you – time to sit quietly without extraneous sounds and just pay attention.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. Whenever I sleep too long, I feel out of whack. A good walk outside does the trick. Yes, I am among the crowd that finds nature calming. Just like you.

    Walking trumpts sitting for me. Sometimes I meditate while I walk. My life is spent sitting so much right now while I write my memoir and other picture books that if I can just walk for a half hour I feel better. Sometimes if it is raining I go on a treadmill, either in the basement or at the gym. Even that, though not nature sometimes is enough to get me back on track. 🙂

    • It hits me when I’ve had too little sleep or just no outside time or allowing outside circumstances to invade my space. But yes, a walk always gets me back in tune.

  4. Take it as a cue to pay attention. It truly is that easy. Simply listening and being in the moment. It can be revealing, calming, and instructional — especially when Luna is illuminating through the boughs. 🙂

    • Yes, it is. More of a creatively inspirational weekend ahead…I hope! Here’s to the great outdoors and nature exploration; can’t wait to head out in the morning. And rain shall not deter me!

  5. Loved the post, especially:

    “Cricket song keeps me company while darkness creeps in and wraps itself around the tall pines. Luna dances across the sky, only showing about half of herself which is enough to light a path through the velvet shawl of night.”

    Do you ever feel out of whack? Nah. That never happens to me. 😛

    How do you find your center when you lose it? Breathing, Mindfulness, Focusing on my senses, Or finding something to laugh out loud about.

    What gives you a sense of peace? Breathing, Mindfulness, Meditating on “Love” and “Gratitude,” and C~H~O~C~O~L~A~T~E.

    When you find your calm disappearing, do you find it to be from outside influences or from not taking care of yourself? Almost always it’s because of being pulled out of the NOW. It could be my own thoughts tugging on the reins or someone else pushing my buttons . . . especially if I’m tired, sick, or sick & tired.

    • Oh my I didn’t even give chocolate a chance…I really was out of focus! I did have wine though and that was so nice relaxing on the swing in front of the fire pit.

  6. Sitting outside does it for me too. We live in a beech forest, surrounded by birdsong, birds calling one another and I remember how I missed all this when I lived in town. There a walk along the beech was what grounded me.
    I think we all lose NOW from time to time and we need to remind ourselves of it. Thanks for this thought provoking posts.

  7. I’m reading a resounding “Sit outside.” I agree – focus on a bird, move my eyes to the leaves of the trees, feel the breeze, try to determine if it;s blowing north or south, watch a squirrel, find a flower or some color, look up, look down, look all around. Breathe.

  8. yes there are times when i too ‘feel out of whack’ for what appears to be no reason at all and i have found that even a few minutes in the local park beneath the trees and open sky is enough to make me stop and pause and that is usually all i need.

  9. I’ve been off center for quite a while – ever since my husband got sick this summer. I am trying to focus on myself and healthy living again, but just can’t seem to get a grip. Hope that changes soon! Hugs!

  10. Lovely, Suzi I find it disconcerting to get out of whack, too (probably that creative gene, ha!). I wind up that way when I allow outside stress, prickly people, and inner doubts to magnify their presence and rob me of my peace. Getting close to Nature generally helps put me back on track (that, and prayer!)

Leave a Reply

