Fall: In Love With Virginia

“Fall has always been my favorite season. The time when everything bursts with its last beauty, as if nature had been saving up all year for the grand finale.”  ― Lauren DeStefano, Wither

If you’re contemplating a trip to see the autumn colors, check out Virginia. The leaves won’t be peak until about the third weekend of October, but here’s a few pics from autumns past.

Autumn is my favorite time of year. I can feel it in the air, the way a crisp breeze will catch beneath my hair. I see it as the leaves are slipping into yellow. Aromas and tastes of apples and pumpkins are tickling my senses. I’m beginning to hear the crunch of dryness beneath my feet and the rustle of leaves in the air.

What do I have to say about fall? Bring it on!

Humpback Rock

Humpback Rock

Humpback Rock

Humpback Rock

Beaverdam Park

Beaverdam Park

Beaverdam Park

Beaverdam Park

Norfolk Botanical Gardens

Norfolk Botanical Gardens

Norfolk Botanical Gardens

Norfolk Botanical Gardens

Spin Cycle: Fall

 

28 thoughts on “Fall: In Love With Virginia

  1. Beautiful! I’ve actually never been to Virginia outside of the summer, but my Aunt’s lake house on Smith Mountain Lake would be absolutely stunning in the fall – she’d post pics on Facebook and I’d almost rather go that time of year rather than when we can swim in the lake!

    • Is Harper’s Ferry in West Virginia? I know where Purcellville and Crimora are…beautiful. I didn’t know you were familiar with Virginia. It’s pretty year round, but I have a particular fondness for autumn.

      • Harper’s Ferry is located where VA, MD and WVA meet; at the confluence of the Potomac and Shenandoah Rivers. An absolutely beautiful and historic town — well worth a visit.

        I lived in Purcellville for nine years, Suzi, much of that time commuting into D.C. for work.

      • Ah, I have relatives in Purcellville.
        I’ve wanted to check out Harper’s Ferry. I know people who go to a music festival there every year….I think I would be happy to skip the music and explore!

  2. We were at James River State Park last week and I got some shots of the light hitting the trees where you could see the majesty of fall moving in. The light here lately has been divine. Personally, I’m not a fan of fall, as it means winter is coming. I’m a spring & summer gal, but Edie girl has been waxing poetically on a daily basis on the beauty and perfection of fall. Apparently she’s a fan.

  3. WOW! WOW! WOW! Suzi, these photographs are beyond stunning! And what a perfect post to celebrate the first day of autumn!

    “Autumn is my favorite time of year. I can feel it in the air, the way a crisp breeze will catch beneath my hair. I see it as the leaves are slipping into yellow. Aromas and tastes of apples and pumpkins are tickling my senses. I’m beginning to hear the crunch of dryness beneath my feet and the rustle of leaves in the air.”

    Amen to every word!

    This post put a HUGE smile on my face! Thanks, my friend!

    Happy Autumn!
    X

    • I’d love to see what you come up with. I love the shades of green out west, very different from the east coast. These photos were not taken this year as the colors are just beginning to come in.

Leave a Reply

