So Where’s The Chocolate?

“Chemically speaking, chocolate really is the world’s perfect food. ”  ~Michael Levine

I don't think anyone loves chocolate as much as my Mama...here is my father watching her eat chocolate! I think I inherited this love from her!

I don’t think anyone loves chocolate as much as my Mama…here is my father watching her eat chocolate! I think I inherited this love from her!

A fun and yummy tidbit I ran across is that tomorrow (September 13, 2014) is International Chocolate Day! Yay, I don’t think there could be anything (food wise) better to celebrate except maybe caramel. I looked it up and oh no, I missed that day! And beer day, too! In fact I missed a whole bunch of great food celebrations. Click here to see what you’ve missed and what’s coming up!

Little gets me as excited or delighted as chocolate! (Except caramel!) In celebration of this most delicious day I have six chocolate brownies in the oven…YUM YUM!

“Strength is the capacity to break a Hershey bar into four pieces with your bare hands – and then eat just one of the pieces.”  ― Judith Viorst, Love & Guilt & The Meaning Of Life, Etc

“Will looked horrified. “What kind of monster could possibly hate chocolate?”  ― Cassandra Clare, Clockwork Angel

“All you need is love. But a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt.”  ― Charles M. Schulz

“Can I come back and see you sometime?”

“Long as you bring me some chocolate,” Gramma said, and smiled. “I’m partial to chocolate.”

“Gramma, you’re diabetic.”

“I’m old, girl. Gonna die of something. Might as well be chocolate.”  ― Rachel Caine, The Dead Girls’ Dance

31 thoughts on “So Where’s The Chocolate?

    • Chocolate is definitely a fun food group all of its own! I had a friend host a chocolate party once, and it was divine. She had a chocolate fountain for dipping and all sorts of chocolate treats and wine! My husband and I had a blast.

  1. Have chocolate for BREAKFAST:

    Researchers in Israel followed a group of obese and overweight adults for eight months. Half the group ate a 300-calorie low carb breakfast (hardly worth getting out of bed for). The other half of the study celebrated the advent of each day with a 600-calorie breakfast which included protein, carbs, AND a small dessert of ice cream or chocolate.

    “During an initial 16-week period, the average weight loss in each group was identical — about 32 pounds. But over a 16-week follow-up, people on the dessert-with-breakfast diet lost an additional 13 pounds on average, while the others gained back all but 3.5 of the pounds they had lost.”

    ~ Dessert for Breakfast May Help Dieters (NYTimes)

  2. And Dr. Wong Yu Phat had this to say:

    Q: What about chocolate? Is chocolate bad for us?
    A: You crazy?!? HEL-LO-O!! Cocoa bean! Another vegetable! It best feel-good food around!

    Chocolate . . . here today, gone today!

  3. I like the Judith Viorst quote: “Strength is the capacity to break a Hershey bar into four pieces with your bare hands – and then eat just one of the pieces.” If that’s strength, I definitely don’t have it. This post has me thinking of a hot fudge sunday. Mmm, that sounds good.

    • Me either! I made brownies to take to my mother’s house, and she had made a German chocolate cake…and I think she, my sister, and myself just might go out for another chocolate treat-the women in my family are going to take this day seriously, ha!

  4. “Strength is the capacity to break a Hershey bar into four pieces with your bare hands – and then eat just one of the pieces.”

    Suzi, I LOVE that quote and it’s so true! Whenever I buy a Hershey bar, I have to eat the whole thing – and many times – all in one sitting. My favorite is dark chocolate! And I have to agree with about caramel as well. Yummy!

    Happy International Chocolate Day, my friend!

    Bon appetit!
    X

  5. YUM! I don’t think we need a special day set aside for chocolate, though, really. I think every day ought to be an occasion to celebrate with something we love, and chocolate is something most of us love!

  6. I missed it too! But then, I realized….EVERY day is the day to celebrate chocolate. And I do love chocolate. I think I got the love of chocolate from your mom as well. Lol. Of course, I want to know what she is eating because it looks really yummy. 🙂

  7. A friend and I recently tried drinking chocolate at a tiny but absolutely exquisite European chocolate shop in a small Oregon coast town. I had the Mayan chocolate – with a little pepper and cinnamon and my girlfriend has a raspberry flavored chocolate. They were made to order and so decadent. It really was the highlight, for me, of a two day trip. Don’t you just love it when you find people who are living their passion and dream and you can tell they’re doing for the sheer love of it?

    • Sounds delightful and delicious.
      Yes, it is. My BIL is a chef and owns a restaurant…it is a joy to see the smile on his face. You can taste the passion in his culinary creations.

Leave a Reply

