Telling The Secrets Of Our Souls

Water is the one substance from which the earth can conceal nothing; it sucks out its innermost secrets and brings them to our very lips. — (Jean Giraudoux, The Madwomen of Chaillot)

Water is the one substance from which the earth can conceal nothing; it sucks out its innermost secrets and brings them to our very lips. — (Jean Giraudoux, The Madwomen of Chaillot)

The manner in which we live can be viewed through our simplistic or extravagant lifestyles. I once read if you followed your money flow you’d discover much about yourself. I promptly pulled out my receipts and reviewed my expenditures. Turns out I enjoy spending time at the grocery store. Well, that’s not exactly true. Grocery shopping is not a thrill for me, but feeding others is a pleasure. I love cooking and sharing meals with others.

While how we spend our money does say much about us, I think how we spend our time says more. It is the greatest indicator of personality and passion. Sure we attend events for the sake of others and even do things or purchase items which are not of utmost interest to us, and it is almost akin to wearing your heart upon your sleeve.

That said our lives might not be as secretive as we think. Though much might be left unsaid and yet undone, everything we say and do is indicative of who we are. We wear priority like an identification badge, and yet it’s all a matter of perspective.

Do you ever wonder if people know what you’re thinking? I suppose my skin is as transparent as water. My feelings are written all over my face and are revealed through body language. I can’t fake others out when it comes to what moves me. How about you?

Is it possible to hold secrets from yourself?  When you can no longer read the writing on your bones, you only need a glimpse of your childhood to refresh yourself. What is it you enjoyed doing? What interested you? What did you read? What did you play? Who did you dream of being? Does this sound far-fetched? I don’t think so. As a child I designed and sewed Barbie clothes. I played in the woods. I experimented in the kitchen. (My poor dad ate many a weird concoction with a smile on his face!) I collected rocks. I wrote. Now: I design and sew art quilts. I hike. I experiment in the kitchen. (Though my family, at times, is not as graceful as my father was at being the guinea pig!) Instead of the kid with rocks in her pockets, they are all over my house, and occasionally in my pocket or purse. Yes, rocks still catch my eye and find their way into my heart. And yes, I still write. Oh, there were years I spent away from these loves while I was attending to other loves, but yet they came back to me. What does this mean? Do you see a similar pattern in your life?

Are our innermost secrets visible to others? If stifled or neglected do they remain with us? The passions within us, secret or visible, stay with us. I’m going to tell you a little story about this. When my father died my sister and I found a guitar and a CD about learning to play the piano. We were going to toss them out and our mother told us not to. Upon inquiry we found it was something she always wanted to do and still hoped to someday. We teased her a bit, but left the items intact. A week ago my mother gave me a book (it was a fill in the blank question and answer book about life) I’d given her to write in about her life. In this book it asked what you dreamed of as a teenager. Her answer was to learn to play the guitar and piano. She has had the same dream her entire life. She is almost eighty-one, and thinks it is too late…I’ve made a few calls today and am hoping her dream can be fulfilled.

Once we become aware of the longings within, we choose whether or not we will share them. Some of us reach for those dreams. Some of us fear them and pretend they don’t exist. Some of us don’t make them priorities. Some of us think we are too busy to make those dreams become our reality. What do you do?

People who follow their spirit emit a certain vibe. There is both calmness and energy about them. (It could be that is how one wears peace and happiness.) They seem to shine from the inside out. They are living the secrets of their souls. Others flock to be in their presence. They want a piece of positivity.

The heart whispers the mysteries of peace and happiness all of our lives.

Don’t tune out the voice of guidance.

The secrets of your soul are waiting to be heard.

Spin Cycle: Secrets

26 thoughts on “Telling The Secrets Of Our Souls

  1. It never fails that when I have moments of doubt on this follow my passion trail I’m on, you post something like this, reminding me to keep on. Thank you Suzi.

  2. Loved this post. Some days I feel trapped because I hate my job, but with my husband unable to work, I don’t really have a choice – I think that’s why I have my blog to at least do something that I do for ME. Cooking is my passion, and it calms my soul. I just have to sit through a 40 hour work week to get into the kitchen. 😀

    • I think most of us at one time or another perform jobs to pay the bills while our true bliss is our weekend gig or hobby. When people do what they love for a living it’s a wonderful thing.

  3. Gorgeous read, Suzi!

    ” Her answer was to learn to play the guitar and piano. She has had the same dream her entire life. She is almost eighty-one, and thinks it is too late…I’ve made a few calls today and am hoping her dream can be fulfilled.”

    That is so AWESOME! And I applaud you for supporting your mothers dream and helping her find a way to fulfill it. Please tell your mother I said, “You GO, girl!”

    I loved this…

    “The heart whispers the mysteries of peace and happiness all of our lives.

    Don’t tune out the voice of guidance.

    The secrets of your soul are waiting to be heard.”

    Thanks for sharing the reminder, my friend!
    X

    P.S. Beautiful photograph, Dirtman!

  4. Good luck to your mom, Suzi.

    When I taught myself to play the guitar, I picked a song with 3 simple chords as my first goal. Then I practiced those 3 chords over and over until my fingers could find the proper placement without me having to think about it. Then I played the song over and over until I was satisfied. From there, I kept adding chords and songs a few at a time.

    To learn the piano, I recommend getting a book that focuses on must playing chords with the left hand while carrying the melody with the right.

    Here’s to keeping our hopes and dreams alive.

  5. the kid with rocks in her pockets, they are all over my house, and occasionally in my pocket or purse. LOL! This is Peanut to a tee! And to top it off, she often collects while wearing some girly, pink dress!

  6. What a wonderful Spin on secrets! I really dislike going to the grocery store, but you’ve given me a new perspective on shopping. I do love to cook for my family when I have the right ingredients! Thank you so much for joining the Spin Cycle this week. It’s nice to have you back!

  7. I’ve always believed that the lucky ones are those who find their passion and are able to be compensated for it. A lovely piece, Suzi — you still collect rocks, huh? Domer did that when he was little — I wonder if he always will??

  8. I think we do keep secrets from ourselves, but perhaps we are waiting for a sign or event to perhaps confront something that maybe painful or sad. It takes reflection and awareness and willingness to listen to those whispers to institute some kind of change. Thanks for this post, Susan. You’ve got me thinking this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

