Writing The History Of Our Lives

Sometimes it is better to lose and do the right thing than to win and do the wrong thing. ~Tony Blair

sunrise under the pier

There will be days life will let you down. You will feel disappointed. And yet even if your heart hurts and you can look yourself in the mirror without shame, it has still been a good day.

There will be times you hold others to your own standards and they don’t live up to those expectations. Is it fair to expect others to be morally conscious?

The thing about honesty is when someone reinvents the truth enough times it becomes his reality, and even so the truth, not his or someone else’s perception, will follow him throughout his journey. The lesson will repeat itself until it is learned.

The greatest lesson I’ve ever learned was by the example of my father, to do the right thing even if it comes at a personal cost to you. He taught me the value of people and relationships. It is basically a matter of integrity…you either have it or you don’t.

When I am dissatisfied with my own thoughts or actions, I know the fault lingers within me. I take action to change my view or behavior. I work on becoming a better person, not just for myself but for others. Because this is important to me, I hope it is important to others. I have faith in humanity.

Every morning the sun rises and we are given another chance to do what is right. What a wonderful world it is to be given opportunity after opportunity to rewrite the history of our lives.

15 thoughts on “Writing The History Of Our Lives

  1. Some days I feel like the thing I do best is reinvent myself. I sometimes have mixed feelings about it, like I drift about too much. I like the idea of rewriting my history. Yes, that’s what I’m doing.

  2. I prefer kind honesty to subtle (or less subtle) deception. One of the reasons I left the practice of law had to do with my desire to live with honesty and integrity as the cornerstone of my days.

    Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony. ~ Mahatma Gandhi

Leave a Reply

