Peace Like A River

If you' re not beside a real river, close your eyes, and sit down beside an imaginary one, a river where you feel comfortable and safe. Know that the water has wisdom, in its motion through the world, as much wisdom as any of us have. Picture yourself as the water. We are liquid; we innately share water's wisdom. — (Eric Alan, "Meditation Draws Its Power From the Water," The Oregonian (September 11, 2005))

If you’ re not beside a real river, close your eyes, and sit down beside an imaginary one, a river where you feel comfortable and safe. Know that the water has wisdom, in its motion through the world, as much wisdom as any of us have. Picture yourself as the water. We are liquid; we innately share water’s wisdom. — (Eric Alan, “Meditation Draws Its Power From the Water,” The Oregonian (September 11, 2005))

I carry an inner peace. I am able to feel calm in the midst of storms. Recently I began to feel a growing agitation within. At first, I thought I’d allowed outside forces to disrupt my harmony.  I realize we are each subject to a certain amount of negativity and chaos, and I was quick to blame my lack of serenity on that. Once I began to soothe my soul, I discovered it was my own lack of spiritual practice which had caused my unrest.

How simple it is to slip away from the things we need the most, and by things I don’t mean material means. I’m talking about meditation, prayer, solitude, rest, and whatever it might be that feeds or comforts one’s soul.

I suppose it could be said a spiritual life is as important to overall balance as an aligned spine is to physical health.  Have you ever felt out of whack and realized you held the solution in the palm of your hand? Unclench your fist, and read the writings of your heart.

Here’s wishing you enough…

Enough time alone, and enough time with loved ones

Enough quietness to hear the voice within

Enough insight to see the beauty before you

Enough touch to feel the love surrounding you

Enough awareness to feel the wind in your face

Enough fortitude to stop long enough to enjoy the fragrance of the day

And

Enough sensitivity to taste the zest of life…

27 thoughts on “Peace Like A River

  1. This is beautiful, Suzi. Thanks for sharing it. I love the idea of going to a calm place, a place where we can regroup and just BE. The imagery of the water is perfect for that, perhaps because Man is composed of so much water?!

  2. Your post reminded me of this:

    Deep peace of the running wave to you
    Deep peace of the flowing air to you
    Deep peace of the quiet earth to you
    Deep peace of the shining stars to you
    ~ Celtic Blessing

    Peace! Ours for the asking.

  3. “How simple it is to slip away from the things we need the most, and by things I don’t mean material means. I’m talking about meditation, prayer, solitude, rest, and whatever it might be that feeds or comforts one’s soul.”

    You are so right, Suzi! And this something I see within myself at times. I can’t always tell when I’ve slipped away from centering myself with the things I need the most because my mind is like a runaway train and my body seems stiff and tense. I refer to this as, ‘stepping away from the light.’

    Love the quote by Eric Alan. And please tell Dirtman I said, BEYOND fabulous photograph….WOW!

    X

    • Yes. I don’t always realize I’m slipping until I’ve gotten to “that point” of feeling over-whelmed and under-appreciated and calm is no where to be found-except it is easily found; I’ve just forgotten to tune in.

  4. This piece reminds me of these words – “Beware the barrenness of a busy life.” We must reach out to solitude. When I am feeling hurried or not enough, I know it is because I’ve not connected with quiet.

  5. I can relate to this – I often feel out-of-sorts when I ignore my spiritual self. Sometimes it feels like I’m just putting out fires – tending to things that need immediate attention. Right now, I’m trying to get off this hamster wheel so I can manage all areas of my life BEFORE they become a “fire.”

  6. i seem to figure these things out but usually AFTER i’ve suffered from my lack of awareness long enough to wake up… sigh, we humans can make life so difficult for ourselves. a lovely, wise post… and like a drink of clear spring water, thank you.

  7. Water has such a soothing effect when it’s flowing smoothly. Lovely photo! My serenity has taken a beating these past few months. These are comforting words.

Leave a Reply

