Evolution Of Fire

“They say a good love is one that sits you down, gives you a drink of water, and pats you on top of the head. But I say a good love is one that casts you into the wind, sets you ablaze, makes you burn through the skies and ignite the night like a phoenix; the kind that cuts you loose like a wildfire and you can’t stop running simply because you keep on burning everything that you touch! I say that’s a good love; one that burns and flies, and you run with it!” ― C. JoyBell C.

Have you ever noticed no matter what you’re doing if you’re doing it by a campfire it’s ten times better? I mean the laughter is more heartfelt, the music louder, the stars brighter, the company better, and the worries of life seem to melt away.

He who sits by the fire, thankless for the fire, is just as if he had no fire. Nothing is possessed save in appreciation, of which thankfulness is the indispensable ingredient. ~W.J. Cameron

Man is the only creature that dares to light a fire and live with it. The reason? Because he alone has learned to put it out. ~Henry Jackson Vandyke, Jr.

“We each have a special something we can get only at a special time of our life. like a small flame. A careful, fortunate few cherish that flame, nurture it, hold it as a torch to light their way. But once that flame goes out, it’s gone forever.” ― Haruki Murakami, Sputnik Sweetheart

We enjoy spending time around the fire ring or the campfire, depending on whether we are home or in the mountains. Lightning bugs (fireflies to some of you) flitter and sparkle all around us. Crickets and frogs serenade us with their night songs; an occasional chorus is yipped by the mountain coyote. Even with the business of nature’s nocturnal creatures, tranquil is the night. At times the night turns quiet, and all but the flowing river stands still.

Watch the sparks in your life. Perhaps it’s a relationship or a creative endeavor which needs flaming. See if you can build a fire. Likewise, if you don’t tend it, it will smolder and turn to ash.

I hope you get the opportunity to experience the wonders of night around a campfire with friends and family.

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Evolution Of Fire

  1. Suzi, my friend, what a WONDERFUL post! I loved ALL these quotes you shared, but the first one really touched me. In fact, I read it twice!

    And is there anything more faaaaabulous than sitting by a campfire? To me, it’s almost like a meditation.

    Beautiful photographs! And speaking of lightning bugs, I saw my very first last week when I was out walking through one of our parks around dusk. I love lightning bugs. They’re magical!

    Have a super week!
    X

    P.S. “Watch the sparks in your life. Perhaps it’s a relationship or a creative endeavor which needs flaming….” Loved that!

  2. Love sitting in front of a crackling fire ~ indoors or out. But campfires are the best. Even when it was hot, we always had a fire when we camped. And we built a fire ring in our backyard in MD ~ right next to the Chesapeake Bay. Great way to get rid of backyard brush. And enjoy the sights of the sound.

    • I miss not having a fireplace in this house…but the fire ring in the back yard makes up for it, well almost.
      I’ll bet that was fabulous being out at a fire pit next to the bay…love!

  3. We had a fire in the fire ring last week for Peanut…complete with s’mores and star gazing. And have you noticed that wine taste so much better when sitting beside a campfire? Your lead quote is very interesting. I really spent a lot of time thinking about it.

    • I spent a long time thinking about it, too. When it really settled in me I LOVED what it meant to me. Some of the most fabulous quotes I’ve come across lately are attributed to this wise young lady.

  4. Sounds very peaceful. I have relative in Australia who had to watch the forests around them burn, but out of the ashes always came new life, new growth.

    • Forest fires are horrible. But yes, new growth out of ash is wonderful…where I grew up it was the yearly burning off of the fields for gardening, put nutrients into the soil…I remember it more for the weenie and marshmallow roasts!

  5. Time spent by a campfire is special (especially with s’mores 🙂 ) We have a fire ring at home and love to have fires (when fires aren’t restricted because of forest fire danger, that is!)

Leave a Reply

