James River State Park

Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance. ~Khalil Gibran

DirtMan and I enjoyed a quiet weekend in the mountains. We decided to take the scenic route home. On our way we stumbled upon the road leading to James River State Park. Did we turn down it? You bet we did! We were not disappointed, and of course we plan to visit again when we can make a full day of it. It doesn’t matter whether you are interested in hiking, biking, horse trails, water sports, or simply enjoying a picnic…there is something here for everyone.

Appears to be a batteau slightly submerged against the river bank.

Appears to be a batteau slightly submerged against the river bank.

A brief history

A brief history

View from the Tye River Overlook.

View from the Tye River Overlook.

A closer view of the train trestle

A closer view of the train trestle

...and we get to see a train, yay!

…and we get to see a train, yay!

The view is simply gorgeous!

The view is simply gorgeous!

 

26 thoughts on “James River State Park

  1. I’ve been across the James River (near Jamestown / Williamsburg) but never closer to its headwaters. Thanks for the share!

    Happy 4th of July ~ hope Arthur leaves you alone!

    • The James is a beautiful river, amazes me how wide it gets in some places.
      Happy 4th to you, too!
      Yes, we are hoping Arthur slides by, as in far away from us.

  2. OMG Suzi, the view looking over the river with the mountains in the background is breathtaking. WOW…what gorgeous area!

    “…and we get to see a train, yay!”

    Yahooooooooooo! I love me some trains!

    And I also love the quote you shared…

    “And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance.”

    Beautiful!

    Happy 4th of July to you and your family!
    X

  3. Oh, Suzi, is this why they call Virginia God’s Country?? I can see why, from the beautiful scenery you’ve shown us! I’ve been to Virginia, but only once (and because it was for a working seminar, I didn’t get to see everything). Now you’ve given me some reasons to go back!!

    • Yes, we were so surprised to hear it coming. We’d driven through the area a few days before and DirtMan got some gorgeous photos, but the view from above, just WOW!

  4. The views of the train trestle are my favorites! All beautiful photographs – thanks for sharing! The explanation of the 1969 floods was a bit of rich history I had no clue about. I was very interested when I read the words ‘ one of the heaviest rainfall on earth’

    123 lives 🙂 Very sad time!

    ML
    x

  5. Those are truly lovely captures of the river. The vegetation is so lush! Obviously don’t have hurricanes here, but last night’s storm brought 60 mph wind gusts and the power was out for 5 hours!

  6. Good morning. I saw you over at Spirit Lights the Way and popped over to read your blog. I am in Virginia too! And I am visiting James River State Park for the first time in October. We’ll be camping with friends and….gulp….I’ll be trying my hand at kayaking for the first time. We, too, love to hike and love our beautiful state. See you on the trails!

    • Hi there! What part of Virginia? I grew up in Nelson County and live in Va. Beach.
      While at the park, make sure you take the trail to the Tye River Overlook, absolutely gorgeous!
      Camping with friends is fun! I think you will love kayaking.
      I feel so blessed to live in the beautiful state of Virginia.

Leave a Reply

