Going Home

“Thousands of tired, nerve-shaken, over-civilized people are beginning to find out that going to the mountain is going home; that wildness is necessity; that mountain parks and reservations are useful not only as fountains of timber and irrigating rivers, but as fountains of life.” ~John Muir

IMG_6015

When I leave the confines of the city and settle into the simplicity of the life in which I grew up I find my comfort zone. The richness of roots is the freedom of a soaring spirit, inner wings which lead you where you need to be…to be HERE, NOW.

Like the wildflowers scattered throughout the fields. They sprout where the wind blows them. They dig in and hold onto sustenance while shining toward the sun. My substance comes from within and so does yours. Wherever we are, within us is the ability to bloom.

IMG_6023

The Butterfly Weed attracts butterflies, hummingbirds, bees, and insects with its vibrant blooms and nourishes them with its sweet nectar, not to mention the holistic value and beauty it offers to humans. We do the same for those we come in contact with through our words and deeds. By connecting with others we can spread love, instill confidence, and inspire growth. Now, that is living a good life in the most simplistic of ways.

IMG_6060

The shade of the walnut tree on a hot summer day is like a heartfelt hug during a trying time. The fruit of the tree feeds the hungry. We have the ability to comfort and feed others on a deeper level, to be a balm to those around us. For those willing to spend time getting to know themselves, they may find they hold the keys to open the doors they’ve been waiting to enter.

IMG_6050

I’ve always called this a blue tailed skink, but technically it’s a common five-lined skink. At any rate, I watched this guy sun himself and dart in and out between boards. He was both curious and cautious. We must never lose our sense of adventure, yet we must exercise our natural instincts to protect ourselves from danger.

IMG_6043

When I’m surrounded by the beauty of nature, my soul is at peace. Listening to the chirps and peeps of birdsong and whistles of wind, I am completely at ease. The thing is I have that same power wherever I am. I carry my peace within. We all do. We are free to be. Tap into your source, and enjoy the feeling of contentment wherever and whenever.

IMG_6086

I only see American goldfinch during the warmer seasons. It seems they have faith protection and provision will be provided during their travels. If only we each had the same faith to pursue what we feel called to do…how many of us hold back in fear, fear of danger, fear of our needs not being met, fear of the unknown? This gives a new meaning to walk (or fly!) blindly with faith. In other words, don’t be afraid to take a chance. I’m getting better at stepping out of my comfort zone. How about you?

IMG_6027

This single Queen Anne’s Lace stretches toward the sky. What does it say to me? It’s important to spend time alone, but equally essential to connect with others. Never be afraid to reach out, to expand.  Life is intricate, beautiful, and unique to each of us. And sometimes, when you look at the underside of everyday situations it is where you find the real beauty of life.

The best things in life are nearest: Breath in your nostrils, light in your eyes, flowers at your feet, duties at your hand, the path of right just before you. Then do not grasp at the stars, but do life’s plain, common work as it comes, certain that daily duties and daily bread are the sweetest things in life. ~Robert Louis Stevenson

32 thoughts on “Going Home

  1. Such a beautiful piece – I have actually never heard of a skink before, but I am sure I saw them in Virginia at some point during my childhood!

  2. Beeeeeeautiful post, Suzi, both your insightful words and gorgeous images of nature! The shot of the blue tailed skink is fantabulous. I’ve never seen one of those. His tail looks at though it’s been dipped in blue paint. Isn’t nature GRAND? And not only in its beauty, but also because if we take notice to it (and I mean really notice it) it is the greatest teacher of life. And this post proves it.

    “We must never lose our sense of adventure, yet we must exercise our natural instincts to protect ourselves from danger.”

    Exactly.

    Thanks for sharing this, my friend. I learn so much through your incredible connection with nature!
    X

  3. This is simply beautiful…it would make a very lovely little “inspirations” book…with each photo and the accompanying insights on each facing page… you’ve written and created truly beautiful and inspiring thoughts and photos.

  4. I need to absorb more of what is going around me in nature and connect it to what is important in life. I like your strategy Suzicate. We don’t see many skinks here–though we did get to watch one sunning in the brush on our NC beach trip.

  5. This is a soul-quieting post, one i really needed to read. your photos are gorgeous with many creatures i too enjoy. yesterday i just say down on the grass and gazed out at the meadows and down at the little creatures so busy in their lives….very quiet and very soothing to my mind. i need to quiet it and am living a crazy-busy time right now. i MUST have alone time and haven’t made that clear enough(apparently…) but the time is rapidly approaching. i so enjoy your posts… thank you so much for your lovely offerings. xox

  6. also, suzi, i am so sorry but i completely forgot about the blog hop and my response to you. i cannot do it right now since my body isn’t cooperating but i should have remembered! i hope you will forgive me. 😦

  7. Lovely photos. The local councils have decided not to cut the grass in public areas so often and it’s amazing how many wild flowers have appeared again because of it.

  8. I can’t even imagine a world without some untamed areas where we are able to just lose ourselves in nature. I hope *civilization* never ignores how important this is to the soul. Fabulous shots and that last quote is perfect.

  9. Lovely photos AND thoughts, Suzi! I find myself fascinated by that skink. I’ve never seen a real one, and I can just picture him sitting there, sunning himself. I don’t think I’ve ever seen real Queen Anne’s Lace either. What a gorgeous place you’ve captured and shared with us! (And your first quote should be the theme song for our national park system!!)

  10. Loved the pics and sentiments in this post. So gorgeous, Susan. I enjoyed the Stevenson quote at the end – just finished reading Under The WIde & Starry Sky by Nancy Horan which details his life. Fascinating read.

Leave a Reply

