A Step of Faith

Faith is a passionate intuition. ~William Wordsworth  red maple 014 We live in a society controlled by ego. The world influences our perceptions and conditions us to make choices based solely on logic. As we fall prey to this pressure we lose touch with our souls.

We seldom take time to listen to the quiet voice within. Albert Einstein nailed it when he said, “The intuitive mind is a sacred gift and the rational mind is a faithful servant. We have created a society that honors the servant and has forgotten the gift.” We all experience intuition whether we realize it or not. Perhaps it’s a voice or a feeling of urgency which directs us to do something out of our normal routine. Sometimes, we shrug it off. Other times, we obey not knowing how it has impacted our lives.

We have become distrustful of ourselves. We question ourselves until we doubt the validity of the voice. We assume this intruder is our imagination, and we block its entrance into our lives. Through the shaping of society we have lost this Divine Guidance, the gift of spirit connection. Because it is in our nature to question, many refuse to listen to this unknown source often referred to as a gut feeling or instinct. Tapping into this unexplained knowledge requires trust.

We struggle to know the difference between ego and intuition. Ego is in your head whereas intuition comes from within, meaning you will feel a physical sensation as well. Ego speaks loudly and becomes almost obnoxious when ignored while intuition is more of a gentle nudge in the right direction and will continue to whisper or redirect you if you make the wrong decision.

There are times we must not look to others for answers but to ourselves. Answers and guidance reside within us. We must quiet our minds and listen.

The inner voice is in agreement with our bodies, minds, and spirits. It knows what we need to hear and when we need this information. It is important to learn to distinguish intuition from thoughts, emotions, and opinions.

Exercising awareness develops intuition. As we practice attentiveness we grow intellectually and spiritually, thus connecting us with our life’s purpose. Where has your intuition led you?

29 thoughts on “A Step of Faith

  1. Quieting my mind, and listening…so challenging, but always worth the effort. I enjoyed this. LOVE your photograph, as well.

  2. Pingback: Be All That You Can Be | Spirit Lights The Way

  3. The mind is a wonderful servant but a terrible master. Here’s to reclaiming the reins.

    I added a link to this to my post today since the two marry well.

  4. I have always loved Eric Clapton’s “Running On Faith” song … when things get tough, I tell myself you just have to run on faith. A good life motto that I am working towards … not always easy to take that deep breath, let go allow faith take over.

  5. “There are times we must not look to others for answers but to ourselves. Answers and guidance reside within us. We must quiet our minds and listen.”

    Suzi, you are so spot on about that. I’ve gotten to a point where if I’m going through some sort of challenge or struggle in my life, I don’t ask others for the answers because as helpful and well-meaning as someone else’s advice can be, it often confuses me.

    “The inner voice is in agreement with our bodies, minds, and spirits. It knows what we need to hear and when we need this information. It is important to learn to distinguish intuition from thoughts, emotions, and opinions.”

    You’re right. And my inner voice communicates information differently than my own thoughts, emotions, and opinions. It usually comes in a feeling of “calming knowing.”

    Great post, my friend. Beautiful photo as well!
    X

  6. Lovely picture. As long as the inner voice, or faith, comes from true enlightenment and not from some of the arrant nonsense and delusion inculcated in the name of certain backward religions.

  7. “We must quiet our minds and listen.” I think that sentence is just chock-full of wisdom, Suzi. And perhaps therein lies the problem — our world today is so noisy, so busy, that we often feel we’re on a merry-go-round, with someone continually turning it faster. Separating ourselves — even for brief periods — is the only way we can remain sane!!

  8. Where has my intuition led me? To the richest places for my soul. To the most joyful places. To the wise moments. It led me to my second husband. It’s led me to make phone calls to my children when they say they’ve needed it dearly. It’s led me to know when my mother has been hurting. It’s led me to understanding what’s important. It’s led me to trust myself and spirit. This is such a rich post. And I’m always so delighted to read Einstein’s words and thoughts. Though he was such a brilliant scientist he had a deep, sensitive spirit too. I love the melding of the two. Nurturing our minds and spirits enhance each other.

    • Your intuition has led you to wise and wonderful decisions and places, love it. I have found some rich Einstein quotes, only recently discovered he had a spiritual side.

  9. I like the Einstein quote. I don’t let the quiet in nearly enough. There have been a few times when someone keeps coming to mind so I’ll call or send an email only to find out that’s what they needed at that time.

  10. Do we permit ourselves time for quiet and reflection to adequately respond to life’s challenges? As you state, I don’t think that this is what contemporary society directs us to do–we are supposed to react instantly and seek maximum self gratification.

    My intuition is still a work in progress, but I am happy to report that I am working on it.

  11. First of all, that is a stunning shot! Absolutely love the color. And I agree we live in a narcissistic society that feeds off self-gratification. But there are times I lean on my intuition a little too much…there needs to be a balance between the *felt* and the *seen.* Great post to ponder!

Leave a Reply

