Lightening The Load

IMG_5598

The ability to simplify means to eliminate the unnecessary so that the necessary may speak. ~ Hans Hofmann

I’m a clutter bug. As soon as I toss it, I’ll be sure to need it which will necessitate my purchasing another of the same item. Or I can’t possibly part with said object due to sentimental value. I tend to treasure items with memories of loved ones attached.

I can let go of clothes, appliances, and even some furniture. I just can’t toss out those baby shoes and a couple of much loved toys.

I am able to part with things I know can be of use to others. I have a difficult time letting go of things I know won’t hold the same value to others as it does to me.

Perhaps I need to perfect the art of detachment…to objects, that is. More and more I’m finding the things that matter really aren’t things at all.

My garbage cans have been filled twice. I have many bags lined up for the donation center. I’ve given much away. I’m simplifying in my own way, lightening the load. It might be a long process, but I already feel freer.

In removing the superfluous substances I am reclaiming the substance of what remains. Order is being restored. I feel as if I have more room to think, to breathe. It’s almost as if my energy has been renewed.

“Simplicity is making the journey of this life with just baggage enough.”  ~Author Unknown

28 thoughts on “Lightening The Load

  1. Go you! Letting go of the extraneous makes room for the essential. I always feel lighter and freer after dropping off a load of stuff at Goodwill.

    One of the things hardest for me to “release” is books. But I am making progress. My bookcases are breathing a bit lighter.

    • Books is a biggie for me, too. I’ve made a rule that if I have no intention of reading it again, it goes. I do have lots of books I’ve read two,three, or more times or that I simply reference to now and then. I order many on my kindle. While I truly love the look, feel, and scent of paper book, the kindle makes traveling much lighter!

  2. This is an ongoing process for me, the need to simplify, lighten up, declutter. I find I must be in the right frame of mind to let go, so I hope to live long enough to complete the job.

  3. LOVE the end quote, and have found it’s so true! Remember, Rome wasn’t built in a day, and lightening your load won’t be finished for a while. The important thing is, you’ve started. Celebrate that! And enjoy the freedom for having too much stuff!

    • I suppose it is an ongoing process. I’ve tried to adopt the attitude that I must let go of one thing for every new one I bring into the house…hasn’t always worked out well though. Handing things down to our children makes it easier. Sometimes. they appreciate antiques and other times (usually the significant other prefers new and shiny objects, lol!)

  4. Fantabulous post, Suzi! And I love that last quote!

    “More and more I’m finding the things that matter really aren’t things at all.”

    You said it ALL in that one sentence. Back in the late-80’s, I went through a period of letting go of ‘things’ that I had collected over the years because I wanted to hold to them so that I could keep the memories. It finally dawned on me that the memories would always be in my heart, I really didn’t need the ‘things’ to remember. So, I let go of them.

    Ironic you posted about this topic, because one of my other blogging friends posted about this same thing. She just recently moved to other home, and in the process, she let go and simplified her life.

    The photo you selected for this post is perfect. And it’s gorgeous, btw!

    X

    • I find it difficult at times to convince myself that material things really mean little. I guess it’s partly because we live in a materialistic world, but more so because I have a tendency to attach memory to objects.

  5. I think we are all the same, some things are easier to give away more than others and i know for myself that the moment i let something go i always ‘need’ it, but somehow i manage to cope without whatever it maybe.

    • Yes, we do tend to move on all the same. I guess it seems I focus more on things probably after I let them go, kinda’ like the opposite of buyer’s remorse!

  6. I am struggling with this BIG time right now… sorting through all of my parents things in the family home. Getting rid of things is like throwing memories away and dismantling the family … even though I know the “things” are not important. (taking pictures of some things helps … especially the larger items .., but I constantly fighting the want to take things home with me as keepsakes)
    When I moved into my new house, I made a deal with myself to avoid the collection of “things” .. “if something new comes in, something old needs to go”. Over time, the Rule gradually failed … even more right now.

  7. I have the tendency to hold onto things as well, so I can relate very much to this! It’s funny though, we are in wildfire season here in AZ, so I’ve been contemplating what my absolute have to haves are (i.e, things that cannot be replaced or I would be devastated if I lost) and there really aren’t that many. My have-to-haves are in a storage bin and it isn’t full yet. Makes me think I should part with some of my nice-to haves… I’d have a lot less clutter 🙂

  8. I’m exactly the same way! Entrepreneur calls me a hoarder! LOL! I’m really not THAT bad….but i do still have lots of baby stuff from 29 years ago!

  9. After cleaning out the homes of both sets of parents in an 18 month period my mantra became one thing in, one thing out. No purchase made before you know what it will replace. In the last year with our move to an eight hundred sq. ft. apartment, many ‘treasures’ were allowed to find a new home, to enrich someone else’s life! Thought provoking post as always.

    • Wow, that does force one to make decisions on what to keep and what to toss. Thinking of the joy said objects brings to another’s life is a good way to cope with letting go.

  10. Pingback: Where’s Your Stuff? | Spirit Lights The Way

Leave a Reply

