How Mindlessness Becomes Mindful

Nothing contributes so much to tranquilize the mind as a steady purpose – a point on which the soul may fix its intellectual eye. ~Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley

IMG_4494

I often empty my mind in order for it to become full again. It can be a mundane task or a moment of being which grants me an inner peace. From this point the well begins to flow.

The void I often wish to escape is the place I find fulfillment. When I empty my mind, truth rises to the surface, and my soul is filled with peace. When this happens, new worlds open up. My energy soars as my creativity skyrockets. In retrospect, I realize these are moments I choose happiness. These are the moments I allow my passions to lead me. These are the moments I am me.

Letting go of pretensions and expectations, releases the mind of obligations and allows the soul to do its thing. Emptying the mind permits the soul to take its rightful position. This mindlessness helps us become mindful to living.

 

18 thoughts on “How Mindlessness Becomes Mindful

  1. I never looked at it quite like that, Suzi, but I guess I do it, too. I’ve always thought of it as day-dreaming! And yes, a creative person MUST do it on a regular basis — clearing the chaff so the “good stuff” rises to the top. Well said!

  2. Sometimes my mind is just too busy and will not empty and so instead of sitting in silence i sit in thought, not trapping the thoughts as they pass, but just allowing them to be. Love the photograph.

  3. “Letting go of pretensions and expectations, releases the mind of obligations and allows the soul to do its thing.”

    Beautifully and insightfully said, Suzi! And as Beverly shared, I will often just observed my thoughts; allowing them to be, which causes them to lose their power.

    Great post!

    X

  4. Beautiful image from a beautiful person. No wonder your soul soars so high. You keep your bags on the ground. Love this. I need to practice this more as I have way too much clutter. 🙂

  5. Sometimes when I try and put too much in my head, I get a message that says, hard drive is full! Then I have to empty the trash. 🙂 Great reminder on how to stay sane in a crazy world. Where do you find these fabulous quotes?!

Leave a Reply

