In the Silence of Spirit

“Every day we slaughter our finest impulses. That is why we get a heartache when we read those lines written by the hand of a master and recognize them as our own, as the tender shoots which we stifled because we lacked the faith to believe in our own powers, our own criterion of truth and beauty. Every man, when he gets quiet, when he becomes desperately honest with himself, is capable of uttering profound truths. We all derive from the same source. there is no mystery about the origin of things. We are all part of creation, all kings, all poets, all musicians; we have only to open up, only to discover what is already there.” — Henry Miller

IMG_5811I sat upon the backyard swing this morning sipping my coffee while listening to birdsong and inhaling the lovely scent of irises wafting in the breeze. I allowed the blessings of the morning to settle in my bones.

I have been gifted a glorious life. I don’t take it for granted; however, I admit I do not live my life to its fullest potential. Perhaps at times, I am lazy. More so, I forget that in not doing so I am denying my Creator. There are times I must step up to the plate. I must acknowledge my talents by the simple gratitude of trusting in them.

I think at times I confuse confidence with arrogance. I also fear failure, but truly failure is only a stepping stone of experience. Experience provides growth. Growth leads to wisdom. At the root of wisdom is authenticity. And authenticity is where is all begins. It is where passion lives.

Synchronicity shows me when I am on the right path. The signs are everywhere, in snippets of conversations, dreams, and the simple nature of life around me. Who am I to judge myself?

36 thoughts on “In the Silence of Spirit

  1. “We are all part of creation, all kings, all poets, all musicians; we have only to open up, only to discover what is already there.” Such a beautiful, uplifting thought!

    I think the saddest thing is to “die with our music still inside.” We’re all afraid of failure, of embarrassing ourselves. But unless we step forward in faith, we’re doomed to sit on the fence. I firmly believe our Creator has given special gifts to each of us — to refuse to use them is to toss them back into His Face (and how ungrateful would that be!!)

  2. “Who am I to judge myself?” indeed, but don’t we all do just that? Some too harshly, others too generously. A good reminder to go with our instincts and be the best we can be. Gracefully.

  3. Suzi, I love this post because it’s chock full of some really, really super inspiration!

    “I think at times I confuse confidence with arrogance.”

    I’ve done the same thing myself, but I’ve learned that there is a difference. I don’t think there is anything negative about feeling genuinely confident (and even saying the words “I’m good at this..”) And I also think confidence is doing something in spite of not feeling 100% sure that you can accomplish it, but being ‘confident’ about it anyway.

    I think arrogance is more about self-doubt and fear.

    Love the photograph you used for this post! Gorgeous!

    X

  4. Sometimes living life to its fullest potential means sitting on a backyard swing sipping coffee while listening to birds and inhaling scents and aromas.

    To live life means to be present and allow the path to unfold before us.

  5. We are not only part of creation, we have creation inside us waiting to get out. I like to think the creation process is ongoing, and we as individuals can play the part we have the ability to do.

  6. I just have to balance the feeling that “I need to be doing something at all times” with the need to be quiet and reflect. Sometimes the latter can be confused with not living life to the fullest despite it’s necessity.

  7. Beautiful, thoughtful post. I judge myself harshly, too.. and my fear of failure or embarrassing myself has caused me to hold back most of my life. I’ve gotten better, but my writing is one area where I still hold back (as in my dragging my feet to make any move toward publication.)

  8. I forget that in not doing so I am denying my Creator. There are times I must step up to the plate. I must acknowledge my talents by the simple gratitude of trusting in them. Suzie, this is a beautiful way to look at life. When I’m feeling unproductive, I really need to remember this. Have a super fantastic weekend, my friend! xo

  9. I certainly know that I forget to “just sit” and sip, breathe the fragrance in the air, appreciate a little bit of breeze and sun on my face. It is restorative, and so easy to rush through the days without giving ourselves this gift.

    Thank you for reminding me.

    • You are welcome.
      Sitting and enjoying is hard for me because I feel I need to be productive. What I”m finding is that when I take time to sit like this I become more productive. I’m trying to sit out each morning with my coffee; so far I’m getting out more mornings than not.

  10. Isn’t that so, so true? Things fall in line, synchronistic snippets pop up all around and the “hows” just seem to appear when we are being authentic and on the right path for us. Love this, Suzicate.

  11. What beauty you weave through the virtue of words 🙂
    Fear and arrogance cannot be a part of one soul my friend! It you have that fear of loss, defeat or anything else, then certainly arrogance is not your cup of tea. I can guarantee that the presence of even a spec of arrogance is missing from you; your word don’t hint that. I would love to read more about some positive words like , ‘Love’, ‘beauty’ and ‘grace’. Glad reading you 🙂

Leave a Reply

