For The Love Of Motherhood

“To describe my mother would be to write about a hurricane in its perfect power. Or the climbing, falling colors of a rainbow.” —Maya Angelou

IMG_3645

The most beautiful woman I know shines from the inside out. Some women are taught to be mothers; mine was born to be one. My grandmother died before my mother even turned two. Though her grandmother helped her father raise the family, those days were filled with hard work and tired bones. Times were just different. God graced my mother with love and strength which shaped her into a mother, a role in which she blossomed.

With Mama in 1997

With Mama in 1997

A mother/daughter relationship stirs you to the core. There is no one a girl is needier of, nor anyone she more looks up to for learning her place in the world. There are times the invisible line between love and hate blurs and we struggle to remember how deeply rooted we are; yet, it is these very roots of love which make us struggle. We fight for independence while we yearn to forever belong.

IMG_5564

With my Mama in 2014. So blessed to still have her in my life.

While God powered my mother for parenthood, it is she who gifted me by example. She is my prime pattern of selfless love, humility, devoted determination, timeless wisdom, faithful courage, and infinite beauty.

As mothers and daughters we make mistakes, but still we do even more things right. When we fail, we pick ourselves up, brush ourselves off, and continue. We learn and grow through loving. As both a daughter and a mother, I know it all begins and ends with love.

“As mothers and daughters, we are connected with one another. My mother is the bones of my spine, keeping me straight and true. She is my blood, making sure it runs rich and strong. She is the beating of my heart. I cannot now imagine a life without her.”  ― Kristin Hannah, Summer Island ****This is a wonderfully written and emotional novel about the intricate relationship between a mother and daughter. I came upon it when I stumbled upon this quote, and I am so glad I did.

 

28 thoughts on “For The Love Of Motherhood

  1. Love this, Susan. You have your mother’s beautiful cheek bones, and her capacity for great, nurturing love.

  2. I can see the resemblance between you and your mom, Suzi, and I know you must, too — every time you look in a mirror. It sounds as if you’ve been blessed with a wonderful mom — this is a heart-warming tribute!

  3. OMG…gorgeous Mother’s Day post and tribute to your mom, Suzi!

    Your words deeply touched my heart.

    And I loved this…

    “There are times the invisible line between love and hate blurs and we struggle to remember how deeply rooted we are; yet, it is these very roots of love which make us struggle. We fight for independence while we yearn to forever belong.”

    How true that is!

    And as other have shared, I can so see the resemblance between you and your mom. Great photos!

    Happy Mother’s Day to you, my friend!
    X

  4. “We learn and grow through loving. As both a daughter and a mother, I know it all begins and ends with love.”
    I couldn’t agree more.with what you say there, dear Susan.
    And I also agree that grandmothers sometimes may have a very beneficial influence on a girl’s upbringing.
    Thanks for publishing this post The pictures are very special too! Thank your! 🙂

  5. This is so beautiful! Mothers are a huge part of us and the love is different than what we experience with anyone else. I enjoyed the photos of you and your mom, as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

