Tree Therapy

I posted a bit of sea therapy a week or so ago, but those who know me know my heart resides in the mountains with a river running through it. While the sea soothes my soul, the joy can’t compete with those of trees. I seem to breathe them in from roots to sky. While the energy from the sea is strong and vast, the energy of the trees is grounded yet unlimited. Perhaps, I’ll just always be a country girl or a hippie-wanna-be; at any rate, enjoy the photos and quotes.

I like trees because they seem more resigned to the way they have to live than other things do.  ~Willa Cather, 1913

I like trees because they seem more resigned to the way they have to live than other things do. ~Willa Cather, 1913

I never saw a discontented tree.  They grip the ground as though they liked it, and though fast rooted they travel about as far as we do.  They go wandering forth in all directions with every wind, going and coming like ourselves, traveling with us around the sun two million miles a day, and through space heaven knows how fast and far!  ~John Muir

I never saw a discontented tree. They grip the ground as though they liked it, and though fast rooted they travel about as far as we do. They go wandering forth in all directions with every wind, going and coming like ourselves, traveling with us around the sun two million miles a day, and through space heaven knows how fast and far! ~John Muir

It is not so much for its beauty that the forest makes a claim upon men's hearts, as for that subtle something, that quality of air that emanation from old trees, that so wonderfully changes and renews a weary spirit.  ~Robert Louis Stevenson

It is not so much for its beauty that the forest makes a claim upon men’s hearts, as for that subtle something, that quality of air that emanation from old trees, that so wonderfully changes and renews a weary spirit. ~Robert Louis Stevenson

“At night I dream that you and I are two plants that grew together, roots entwined, and that you know the earth and the rain like my mouth, since we are made of earth and rain.”  ― Pablo Neruda, Regalo De Un Poeta/ Gift Of A Poet

“At night I dream that you and I are two plants
that grew together, roots entwined,
and that you know the earth and the rain like my mouth,
since we are made of earth and rain.” ― Pablo Neruda, Regalo De Un Poeta/ Gift Of A Poet

Trees are much like human beings and enjoy each other's company.  Only a few love to be alone.  ~Jens Jensen, Siftings, 1939

Trees are much like human beings and enjoy each other’s company. Only a few love to be alone. ~Jens Jensen, Siftings, 1939

I hear the wind among the trees Playing the celestial symphonies; I see the branches downward bent, Like keys of some great instrument. ~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

I hear the wind among the trees
Playing the celestial symphonies;
I see the branches downward bent,
Like keys of some great instrument.
~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

“And see the peaceful trees extend their myriad leaves in leisured dance—they bear the weight of sky and cloud upon the fountain of their veins.” ~Kathleen Raine, Envoi

“And see the peaceful trees extend their myriad leaves in leisured dance—they bear the weight of sky and cloud upon the fountain of their veins.” ~Kathleen Raine, Envoi

We all travel the milky way together, trees and men... trees are travellers, in the ordinary sense.  They make journeys, not very extensive ones, it is true:  but our own little comes and goes are only little more than tree-wavings - many of them not so much.  ~John Muir, Scribner's Monthly, November 1878

We all travel the milky way together, trees and men… trees are travellers, in the ordinary sense. They make journeys, not very extensive ones, it is true: but our own little comes and goes are only little more than tree-wavings – many of them not so much. ~John Muir, Scribner’s Monthly, November 1878

Character is like a tree and reputation like a shadow. The shadow is what we think of it; the tree is the real thing. ~Abraham Lincoln

Character is like a tree and reputation like a shadow. The shadow is what we think of it; the tree is the real thing. ~Abraham Lincoln

Trees are poems that earth writes upon the sky, We fell them down and turn them into paper, That we may record our emptiness. ~Kahlil Gibran

Trees are poems that earth writes upon the sky,
We fell them down and turn them into paper,
That we may record our emptiness.
~Kahlil Gibran

 

 

 

 

35 thoughts on “Tree Therapy

  1. Trees are majestic, holding their arms Heavenward and their feet firmly on terra firma. Too often, we take such beauties of Nature for granted. Thanks, Suzi, for pointing out through verse and photo how blessed we are to be sharing Earth with trees!

  2. As you already know, I love trees, therefore I LOVED this post, Suzi!

    “While the sea soothes my soul, the joy can’t compete with those of trees. I seem to breathe them in from roots to sky. While the energy from the sea is strong and vast, the energy of the trees is grounded yet unlimited.”

    I feel the same. I enjoy the sea and being by the water, however, it’s the mountains and trees that speak to me the most. It’s as you shared….they seem to ground me. And astrologically speaking, I’m an air sign, so that makes sense. The earth quality balances my air quality.

    Stunning tree photos! My two favorites are the one with the sun shinning through the branches, and the one with the bench under the trees.

    X

  3. Excellent in matching colorful photos with inspiring quotes. Like you–I enjoy my beach visits, but being around trees, fields, and streams are my preference.

    At least they put an equivalent size shell next to your cannon–they have mismatched barrels and ammo next to us. Weird that I think about such things.

    • Actually, that photo was taken at Fort Monroe. Back in the day (saw the photo in a historical book) the tree was just a small thing beside the cannon…it grew to accommodate the cannon. It is really a cool place to visit and compare the photos from the book (they carry it in the gift shop) with present day conditions.

  4. Trees lined the dirt roads and driveways of my youth. Fence rows and creeks were adorned with trees. As a very small child I thought the trees created the wind by moving their limbs back and forth. Each species has its own unique beauty, these largest of plants in the Creator’s Earth garden.

    • Lovely memories. I grew up with lots of trees as I lived on a large property in the country. We chose our neighborhood before we found a house. The streets were lined with trees and it felt like home.

  5. I love the Robert Louis Stevenson quote. I regularly walk the patch of woods near my house where I can let my dogs run free and I can breathe in the musty air and release all my stress. Thanks for sharing the beautiful photos!

  6. I agree with you completely about trees. I had that conversation with my sister who has moved to Florida. I enjoy visiting the beach, but I would never move away from my trees for it. You got great pictures of interesting and beautiful trees. Thanks for sharing them. I know it takes time.

    • Though I live at the beach, I seldom go except to the areas that run through the wild life refuges. I don’t like the tourism, but I do like the ocean. I just happen to like the mountains a lot more. Perhaps, it’s because the trees and mountains seem to sing the song of home to me.

  7. I like the trees near the ocean. I don’t prefer that long stretches of white flat sandy beaches . . . I like the trees next to the ocean. Ahhhhh! That is the best for me.

Leave a Reply

