Sea Therapy

 

Through the blackest night, morning gently tiptoes, feeling its way to dawn.  ~Robert Brault

Through the blackest night, morning gently tiptoes, feeling its way to dawn. ~Robert Brault

To stand at the edge of the sea, to sense the ebb and flow of the tides, to feel the breath of a mist moving over a great salt marsh, to watch the flight of shore birds that have swept up and down the surf lines of the continents for untold thousands of year, to see the running of the old eels and the young shad to the sea, is to have knowledge of things that are as nearly eternal as any earthly life can be. ~Rachel Carson

To stand at the edge of the sea, to sense the ebb and flow of the tides, to feel the breath of a mist moving over a great salt marsh, to watch the flight of shore birds that have swept up and down the surf lines of the continents for untold thousands of year, to see the running of the old eels and the young shad to the sea, is to have knowledge of things that are as nearly eternal as any earthly life can be. ~Rachel Carson

You can't cross the sea merely by standing and staring at the water. ~Rabindranath Tagore

You can’t cross the sea merely by standing and staring at the water. ~Rabindranath Tagore

The sea, once it casts its spell, holds one in its net of wonder forever. ~Jacques Yves Cousteau

The sea, once it casts its spell, holds one in its net of wonder forever. ~Jacques Yves Cousteau

"Limitless and immortal, the waters are the beginning and end of all things on earth." ~Heinrich Zimmer

“Limitless and immortal, the waters are the beginning and end of all things on earth.” ~Heinrich Zimmer

 

31 thoughts on “Sea Therapy

  1. Gorgeous…and I mean GORGEOUS photographs, Suzi! I especially love the ones of the sunrise’s….WOW!

    When I still live in Florida and close to the beach, one of my favorite things to do was to go there just before the sun started setting, and just witness the beauty!

    The quotes you’ve selected are awesome!

    Have a great week, my friend!
    X

  2. There is just something awesome about having feet in the sand and hearing waves crash. I just the family’s plane tickets for our AUG annual Gulf of Mexico trip–your pics have me in the mood for sure.

  3. These are lovely, Suzi, both the photos and the quotes you chose to accompany them. Being seaside is one thing I desperately miss when I’m in Illinois. Guess Cousteau called it right, huh?!

  4. Oh my, you really know how to start a Monday! These are stunning shots….and make me wish I was there instead of land-locked Missouri. I’m always in favor of a little Sea Therapy….and Vitamin SEA!

  5. Beautiful. One of my Dad’s dreams was to sail on a sailboat in the ocean. He even built a replica sailboat and put it on the hood of our car in the summer and would let the wind blow it’s sails and he would talk about the boat trip he would eventually take – he never did though – so sad!

    • How cool is that! I’ll bet people recognized your dad’s car from a distance. It’s sad when we think of the dreams the people we loved had that never materialized. They probably were so busy taking care of their families and then when they had the time they no longer had the energy…a friend and I were recently discussing this very thing.

    • I live about ten miles from the ocean, but a seaside town is close enough. I love going, mostly when there are no tourists about. Funny though, as much as I love it, I adore the mountains even more.

  6. This was a gorgeous journey! I love to look at photos of the sea, but in reality, I don’t enjoy going because the texture of sand on me just makes me cringe. It’s weird.

Leave a Reply

