At The Edge

“Come to the edge, he said. They said: We are afraid. Come to the edge, he said. They came. He pushed them and they flew.” ~Guillaume Apollinaire

IMG_5610

In this round world of ours we create edges of our own. There are borders we refuse to cross, branches we are afraid to climb, and rivers we only dare to swim. Yet, we think about doing these things.

Often it comes down to determination. It starts with intention and continues with commitment.

Have you ever read a five hundred page book? Chances are you didn’t do it in one sitting, but read a few chapters a day.  If you enjoyed it well enough to finish it, you were glad you put in the time.

Every day, people achieve what they presumed to be the impossible for them. People who are afraid of water might not jump right into swimming lessons, but start with getting their feet wet. Some who say they can’t run start out walking down the street and in time end up competing in marathons.

What is it you want to do? Lose weight? Learn to sew? Write a book? Play the piano? Sing? Paint? Take photographs? Take the first step today. Do it again tomorrow. Take it a step farther the day after that and so on. You can do whatever it is you want as long as you intend to do it.

Once we pass the edge, we usually find it wasn’t nearly as scary as we anticipated.

Take the plan out of your head, and put yourself physically into the plan.

“The world can only be grasped by action, not by contemplation. The hand is the cutting edge of the mind.” ~ Diane Arbus

35 thoughts on “At The Edge

  1. My daughter and I were just talking about this yesterday. I think it’s important to set a goal and then figure out how to get to it, while not shutting out the idea of making a change in goals. Perhaps you want to sing, but find out you have a real talent for dance!

  2. Suzi, I LOVE your first sentence….

    “In this round world of ours we create edges of our own.”

    That is so true!

    “Take photographs? Take the first step today. Do it again tomorrow. Take it a step farther the day after that and so on. You can do whatever it is you want as long as you intend to do it.”

    Exactly! And that’s how I’ve approached my knowledge of photography. It’s been a work in progress; learning as I go along.

    FAB post, my friend. And thank you!

    X

  3. Great post! We do create our own boundaries. The day-by-day approach is a good way to make a move. A big issue of mine is dwelling too much on the end goal, which seems so overwhelming I don’t even start.

  4. “Take the first step today. Do it again tomorrow. Take it a step farther the day after that and so on. You can do whatever it is you want as long as you intend to do it.” – I needed that line Suzi – thank you! 😀

    • You’re welcome. It’s something I often tell myself. I must take the first step before I can get anywhere, but that first step is usually the most difficult.

  5. Pingback: I’d really like you to be. . . | My Bizzy Kitchen

  6. I’m here from Biz’ blog and I just want to say that I absolutely loved this post and it was the exact thing that I needed to hear! Thanks 🙂

  7. Baby steps. We get there one boundary at a time, one step at a time, on hour at a time, one word at a time. Wisdom in every word here.

  8. Lovely thought to start the day, Susan. One step. That is all it takes to have a plan materialize. What gets us to start that one step? That is what fascinates me.

  9. I constantly need to remind myself that things are accomplished one step at a time, and that my steps might be smaller than someone else’s but i’ll get there eventually.

Leave a Reply

