Getting What You Need

“You can’t always get what you want, but if you try sometimes, you might find, you get what you need.” ~Mick Jagger

IMG_5526

 

These waters are anything but still. They hiss, gurgle, murmur, and babble as they bubble between rocks, push their way through walls of sticks and stones, and splash against the banks. This aquatic orchestra is solace to my soul. This bit of nature’s noise stills my mind.

Oldest and I spent some time at my mother’s house this weekend. We hiked the family land and collected a few rock treasures. I enjoyed the opportunity to share our family history with him.

Dirt Man and I often took our kids on family hikes, but it’s been years since I’d gotten to do this with Oldest. I did get to hike a few years back with Youngest and equally enjoyed that outing as well. It seems as our kids have grown up their lives have developed new interests which have paved a path distinctly their own. It was wonderful to reexamine roots together.

This hike wasn’t preplanned, nor was it something I thought I needed. However, it fulfilled me in a way I hadn’t expected. I suppose we connected on a level we used to, before life became serious. We visited the past, lived in the present, and pondered the future. Nature has a way of balancing life.

Here’s hoping your week is filled with unexpected pleasures, chance encounters, and finding what you need rather than what you want.

16 thoughts on “Getting What You Need

  1. “We visited the past, lived in the present, and pondered the future. Nature has a way of balancing life.”

    Suzi, sounds like you had a “just what you needed” weekend! That’s awesome!

    Love, love, love that quote by Mick Jagger!

    Also, that photo is stunning!

    X

  2. We visited the past, lived in the present, and pondered the future. Nature has a way of balancing life. This is such an amazing thought. I’m so sick of hiding in the house b/c of the frigid temps, and can’t wait until the weather breaks to get out in some warmer nature! Lovely shot. Makes me want to go creek stomping!

  3. Thank you for sharing this lovely story with us. Such spontaneous enjoyable experiences contribute to treasured memories that I am sure you and Oldest will carry in your heart for many years. Simple pleasures are so refreshing. Love to you from Jenna

Leave a Reply

