Reaching Beyond

Man is the only creature that refuses to be what he is. — Albert CamusMontebello 064

We are born to thrive, to grow physically, spiritually, emotionally, and intellectually. If circumstances prevent this, we adjust to our conditions, invent new perspectives, or learn to prosper with what we’re given.

We first learn to survive what we feel is holding us back.  When we begin to fight our confines we become aware of our potential. Though we are shaped by our environment, we are not defined by it.

When you strive to do more than survive, you learn to thrive. You not only find your truth, but you grab it with both hands and soar into the world. You blossom.

Sometimes it takes a change in attitude and increase of effort to shift from surviving to thriving. We must be willing to step outside the box.

If you are afraid of the world you are merely surviving in it. If you see the world filled with possibilities for your undertaking you are thriving.

It comes down to adapting to circumstances or exceeding them.  I’ve spent the larger part of my life conforming. It was the comfortable thing to do. That was before I realized I had the means to exceed my limitations. After all, if I was the one who set those limitations I could certainly change them. What a wonderful realization, like a burst of freedom. What if we all learned we are limitless? What amazing things we could accomplish!

The key is to always ask yourself what more can you be or what more can you do. If you’re honest in questioning, the answers will come.

We tend to think life is about choosing sides when the reality is to find your own space.

Being a survivor in this world is a wonderful thing, but know it’s within your potential to be a “thriver”.

Schuyler 026

32 thoughts on “Reaching Beyond

  1. It’s funny. I think about this a lot. I see people who have enormous potential because of talent and / or intellect and sometimes watch them let those gifts shrivel up from non-use. I also see people who seem to be right in the “average” range but they have such drive that it takes them further than one would have ever imagined. I think we sometimes allow others to put limits on us and it’s a wonderful thing to free ourselves from those ties or bounderies. If we can imagine it, we can probably do it. Well said, Suzicate!

  2. Thank you very much, I’am really glad that I’m following you. I’m still figuring out. Just wanted to say that you are an awesome blogger, Inspiring and May you inspire more readers essentially perfectly ok. greetings from Gede Prama 🙂

  3. Much better to THRIVE than merely to survive. The former has connotations of success and fulfillment; the latter, of just getting by. Who wants to waste the gifts and talents we’ve been given because of fear??

    • I hope to be able to fully tap into my potential because I surely don’t want to live my life as a waste…figure if I look at it this way it will help get my butt in gear!

  4. Suzi, such an inspiring post and i needed to read your words. while i suffer from limitations, i try so hard to overcome. now i wonder about reaching beyond limitations, wondering what are self-imposed and what are necessary. seems i am still 28 in my heart/mind, if you know what i mean. 😉

    thank you for the beautiful inspirations.

    • When I’m feeling doubtful I spend time in solitude and it truly helps me to discover if my limitations are self imposed, which they are most of the time. I do have physical limitations at times, but the hubby makes me push those as well! Oh, yes, I know exactly what you mean! And thank you for your beautiful words!

  5. Suzi, once again….AWESOME post!

    You share so many spot on things within this post, and then summed them up in one single line…

    “We tend to think life is about choosing sides when the reality is to find your own space.”

    Yes! Yes! Yes! And once that space is discovered (with no comparison to anyone else), we can celebrate our uniqueness….and THRIVE.

    I love both the photos you shared within this post because they perfectly compliment your words!

    Thanks, my friend!
    X

  6. Suzi – I feel compelled to respond, and as the call ins to the radio say…long time listener, first time caller. Well, for me – long time follower, first time responder. I am not even sure how I stumbled upon your blog – but it touches me often, in a variety of ways. I can tell from many of your respondents – that they have a relationship with you. Thank you for sharing from the depths of your soul. I don’t think you realize the reach of your impact. Blessings to you.

    • Jill, thank you so much for your thoughtful words…today is a day I really needed to hear them. Over time I’ve come to know quite a few of these commentators and have come to cherish my relationship with them. Blessings to you.

    • Kamana, you have no idea how happy it makes me to see a comment from you. I’ve missed you. I hadn’t been able to find your blog and our paths separated. I’ve missed your sweet soul, your lovely island photography and gentle wise words. Thank you for coming by. I hope to stay in touch this time!

  7. I used to thrive…now I think I am just surviving. Except when I get enthusiastic. Then I thrive again.

    I also think a lot of where a person is at (thriving or surviving) is what she surrounds herself with, as in books, music, art, work, people.

    Suzi, you are a great person to be surrounded by. For me, it all boils down to how one shares her unique spark…fully and alive or haltingly and without conviction. Guess which one you do. 😉

Leave a Reply

